We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find lovely place”
Review of Postigo do Carvao

Postigo do Carvao
Ranked #101 of 1,657 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Lunel, France
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great find lovely place”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

so close to all the tourist places just in a side street off the square R da Fonte Taurina 24 to 34 a Ribeira

a lovely place cool comfortable with attentive service and menu in English old fashioned high room with wood beautiful

we pushed the boat out and had tuna pate and a meat cake starters with the bread rolls half of sparkling and a big bottle of still water
I had the salmon with potatoes and veg and Denis went for the whole hot dish from the oven of their own bachalau
as they offered a free sangria filled with fruit at the beginning I didnt bother with wine
they even made a non alchoholic one for Denis at his request

then I had an americano a big black coffee as i was so full but Denis managed a picasso dessert
it came to the grand total of ONLY 34,80 euros
quite amazing
and they gave me a gift if a table handbag hanger

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alicia71lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    541
    139
    44
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“don't even bother cos they won't!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Terrible experience! Maybe it's because I'm Portugues and actually live in Porto so they think they don't have to bother but, waiting over half an hour for food when ther were only 4 occupied tables and not being able to approach the table to check on us (even after we got up and asked for the waiter): now, that doesn't say much for their customer attention.
The funny thing is that I have friends that know the owner and we did talk to him about it in a polite fashion, so his employees don't give thae place a bad reputation but then we realized that he doesn't take constructive critic very well and we were mistreated once again! To think that I sent so many people there... well, It needs to be sad, theyr food may be good but there are a lot of other places with great food!
I'll never go back to this place and I'd advice anyone who likes fast, nice and polite service NOT TO GO!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank claudiapintobasto73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Octopus ever”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel on our first night. When we arrived there was a line of people waiting for tables. A good sign when there were plenty of space in restaurant nearby. Instead of waiting we booked for the following night. We coyly arrived almost 30minutes late the next night and were warmly greeted. We had the best roasted octopus ever. You could cut it with a spoon and it had great flavour.
Overall we had a great night in a bussing place and at a price which was very affordable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnwireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value, great taste”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A very good location and a strong menu with lots of choice. We enjoyed 2 types of cod and a wonderful roasted pork with sweet chestnuts that was exceptionally tasty. The prices were excellent and the location has charm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRoseF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubbergen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good atmosphere, nice restaurant, Food is average, but cheap. it is a typical portostyle restaurant. Strong focus on tourists

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EoSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postigo do Carvao also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Postigo do Carvao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing