We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Place, try to make a reservation”
Review of Postigo do Carvao

Postigo do Carvao
Ranked #99 of 1,681 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Busy Place, try to make a reservation”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's a very busy place. We went there twice and it was always packed. It was hard to get a table for two since all the tables are for four persons or above.

The decoration seems like we're on the street since it has some lamp posts that should be on a street.

The service was good. For starters they brought "Bôla", grilled chorizo, and other things. We only ate the "Bôla" and it was really tasty, and for two people it was a big amount.

At the first day we asked if the dishes were small and they said it would be better to order one dish per person. So we did, but not on the second time we went there because with the starters and one dish was way enough for the two of us.

We ate the codfish with cream and the Porto Steak. They were both great but the two dishes are a lot for 2. We drank half a liter of the house red wine which was fine for the meal.

Take note, the outdoor seating has just two tables, each table takes about 4 people. No scenic view whatsoever.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroNunesMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    546
    142
    45
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We went back again”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our first visit was from a local recommendation. We enjoyed it and so booked for a Saturday night. It was very busy and turned away a lot of people. Popular with locals. Good food and pleasant service; some items were very good value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great evening meal”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wasn't the restaurant we planned for but everything seems to close early around there. But no trouble, Postigo to the rescue. Buzzy restaurant, friendly service and good food. Seem to be a lot of locals - always a good sign

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caerberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Restaurant was busy so had high hopes. Queued to get in, was seated after a bit of a wait (there were about 4 tables free that needed clearing). Eventually the two of us were seated and handed one menu. Waiter didn't come back to us for 20 minutes.

Ordered seafood stew with white beans to share. It had about three tins of white beans dumped into it, no flavour in the (now starchy) broth. Loads and loads of clams and mussels and a few prawns but they weren't fresh, although the king prawns in it were nice.

We weren't given spoons or bowls, had plates and knives and forks to eat a stew. Took about 5 mins to get a waiter to acknowledge me to ask for spoons. He brought over one spoon.

Maybe they were rushed off their feet earlier, maybe something had happened in their day that made them surly to us, but it was a really bad experience for our first night in Porto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peckhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It's in a good location on a buzzing little street with other restaurants, just a row back from the river edge. The food is basic Portuguese cuisine but fine. Other diners are mainly tourists. The "music" is Euro-pop from a one-man band. Okay if you're hungry, don't want to stray too far from the centre and don't want to spend too much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ObeytheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postigo do Carvao also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Postigo do Carvao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing