We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent option for Porto. Expensive, but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carris Porto Ribeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Itu, SP
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent option for Porto. Expensive, but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went ther for few days and good surprise. Rooms comfortable, good bathroom, friendly staff.
Breakfast also good with lots of choices.
We didnt prove the restaurant, but for breakfast seems very good. Environment was also good, even though there is a big route for parking - public but with a discount. No place for load and unload cars. Is not cheap, but worth

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduba101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    346
    97
    33
    17
See reviews for
115
425
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lots of good marks for the Carris Porto Ribeira: location, rooms, staff, food,... and a low mark for the elevator service. The hotel has 7 floors (from 4 to -3) and only one elevator bank for its 90 rooms, which makes for uncomfortable waiting during peak hours (breakfast and check out). Also, some of the advertised "river view" rooms only offer a side view. And the second day one of our rooms was not cleaned properly although the bed had been made; management had no explanation.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th (just 2 rooms) floor offer a better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garcini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel has a great location, only a block off the river. We walked to all of the sights in Porto, including walking across the top of the bridge to Gaia and all of the port houses located along the other side of the Douro River. The room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. It has a very nice-sized bathroom with modern fixtures. Our room was on the street side, so it was a bit noisy, given the lively night life along the river. The lobby and bar are very inviting and nicely done in a minimalist, contemporary way.

Room Tip: The street side rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was travelling with my nine year old son and this hotel suited us perfectly. The location was great for sightseeing with the river cruise and bus tour stops only a couple of minutes away, and many of the must-see sights very easily walkable. Room wasn't huge, but had a small balcony and the bathroom was pretty modern and clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and breakfast definitely got my son's seal of approval! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Porto.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 74mmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed for 5 nights at the Carris Hotel. I was traveling on my own and I'm so glad I picked this hotel because the staff were so wonderful and friendly I did not feel lonely at all.

They found the best tours and organise everything for me. I told them what I would like to do and they searched and found exactly what I asked for. So I relaxed and enjoyed my short stay without lifting a finger.

I mentioned to them it was my birthday and they surprised me on the day with a little gift.

Wonderful hotel with a great service. If I go back to Porto this is where I would stay.

Thank you for your hospitality and making my stay so delightful.

Hoori

Room Tip: If available pick the room with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoorif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location, one block from river, close to bars, wine, food, touristy gifts. Topically a sleek modern esthetic with nice lobby and bar area. Free wi-fi!

The restaurant is on floor -3. Wi-fi is unavailable on this level. Walls are thin; can hear guests shower in their rooms when passing through the hallway. Slow single elevator. Beds are TERRIBLE! Hard mattresses and limited pillows and dirty throw pillows. Think they reuse/refill the toiletries (the shampoo bottle was sticky with soap). No washcloths. Had to use the handheld shower nozzle as the button to convert to overhead head was unscrewed and wouldn't work.

This place is loud. If you have a room on the street side you will be up all night listening to the bass from the nearby clubs.

Porto is great. This place is not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PricelessnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for a conference. Wonderful attentive staff. Lovely big rooms. Delicious breakfasts. Great location. Taxis so cheap that getting round Porto was easy. Short walk to riverside restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#19 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#25 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Property: Carris Porto Ribeira
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing