We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm nice but have reservations about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Mmmm nice but have reservations about it”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. On arrival we were not at all impressed by the staff who seemed more like automatons than people. We were dealt with by a very surly guy. However during our stay the staff couldn't have been nicer. We never saw this one guy again so maybe he was just the weekend staff.
Hotel public areas were lovely. Our room was very nice but faced a brick wall, no view at all. But the air con was amazing!
We ate the first night in the restaurant and I have to say the food was awful. We both had fish and it came with boiled potatoes and vegetables. The fish was OK but the vegetables were all overcooked and watery. They were also very bland, no taste to them, no seasoning. The service was appalling. We went in at 7.45 pm and came out at 10.20 pm and we only had 2 courses. I have to say the puddings were very nice. I think the hotel prides itself on its fine dining but it seemed to be trying to be too pretentious with the food presentation. I would rather have had something more edible than all the trimmings. After this we ate out at night and there are some fabulous places, one only a little further on the same road. The ones at the waterfront are good too.
Loved Porto, so much to do. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Don't choose one starting 00 or you will end up in the basement looking at a wall as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyeSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    365
    111
    41
    19
See reviews for
122
457
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks in October to celebrate my 50th. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. There is a good selection of TV channels. The double windows do a good job of insulating the street noise, though a light sleeper may hear some penetration. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the young woman at the front desk named Marta. Location is great. Right by the river and the port wine houses over the bridge. The center of town is uphill one kilometer away. The breakfasts are o.k. but never changed in the two weeks we were there.
A couple of things which we did not like were the funny smell in the hallway on the third floor, and how stingy they were with replenishing the soaps and shampoos. A four star hotel should not leave one scrap of soap for two people. Once we asked for more soaps they were provided however.

All in all, a comfortable stay in a great city.

Room Tip: I was told by the front desk that a double room with two beds pushed together is a bigger room than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paparufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Considering that I just got off of a river cruise , I should have thought this room palatial by comparison, but it was very cramped and very inefficiently designed. We could not change places in the room unless one person sat on the bed. Not to mention, there wasn't any place else to sit. If we opened the door to the patio, it swung to hit the bed and was a very dangerous glass door obstructing the path. The closet had dress and slacks hangers with a floor clearance for someone 2 feet tall. The bathroom floor was extremely slippery because there wasn't a door to shut while showering. The bed was comfortable, but piled with decorative pillows and no place to store them, except on the floor which added to the already poor traffic pattern.

On the good side, Carris is a beautiful and unique renovation of an historic building. It was within walking distance off all the wonderful sights in Porto-my new favorite city. The staff was excellent (though they did miss our wakeup call) and had a nice breakfast packed since we were leaving very early in the morning.

I would stay here again in an instant, but only after viewing the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoodRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiaxere, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great location--just up the hill from the river. The bedroom/bathroom was excellent but we rarely used the downstairs. Needed a closet up where we bathed, etc. The staff was excellent. Very, very helpful and courteous. Excellent restaurant!

Room Tip: If you're not into climbing stairs, stay away from the suites but the view of the river is almos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryandrichard240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location, one minute to walk to the river. We had a junior suite which was on two levels at the top of the hotel - beautiful view across the river to the port cellars. Efficient but frosty reception on arrival, but the other reception staff were very helpful. Very large (7ft) bed, and very comfortable. Rooms cleaned to extremely high standard. Only negative - unable to borrow an iron, although they do offer ironing service, and the wardrobe is short - unable to hang a normal length dress. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsABeautifulW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Travelled for a weekend away with friends. Beautifully restored old prison building (according to a local) in a fantastic location close to the quayside and it's restaurants and wine bars. We all had junior suites each of which had a lounge area, balconies and plenty of place as well as views (of differing quality) of the river. Pretty good value as well.

Only issues were the breakfast area (which seemed overcrowded and understaffed meaning that residents were having to queue for some time to sit down) and reception where the absence of a concierge meant having to wait for seemingly ages to get a routine request answered while the charming staff were booking trips recommending restaurants etc.

Despite these issues, it was a really enjoyable stay and I would return if in Porto again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor junior suites have proper balconies (i.e. not Juliet balconies) and great views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butch_Petrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is ideal for exploring Porto as it is close to the river and has good access to restaurants and activities. The desk staff are very helpful and can answer most questions. The hotel is cleverly restored and has a charming ambience.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a superior room as the standard rooms are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#18 of 106 in Porto
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 106 in Porto
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Property: Carris Porto Ribeira
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing