We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice area of porto, recommend the area, close to lots of restaurants (just around the corner) and walking distance to Gaia and the shopping area. Room was modern and clean, but dark. View was terrible.
Breakfast was ok, but not worth paying extra for (lots of places to eat breakfast near by).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hansen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 962 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel recently for 5 nights. It was our first trip to beautiful Oporto, we had a Junior Suite and the view from our bedroom was amazing. We had ample space and the bedroom and bathroom were lovely. The only slight negative is there is no wardrobe space to hang up clothes but this is just a minor gripe. The public areas in the hotel are well appointed and this building has been beautifully restored.

I cannot understand the comments by other reviewers about the problems with the internet and having to renew same each day. This was not the case with us we used the same code for the duration of our stay without any problems at all. We found the location to be superb and although we had little interaction with the front staff we found them very helpful with directions and recommending a nice restaurant for our first night.

We got the No. 1 old style tram out to Foz (€2.50 one way and 20 minutes) and we walked along the coast for 30 minutes at our leisure to Matosinhos. Here there are some lovely fish restaurants serving beautiful sardines grilled on the barbecue. Just get away from the tourist restaurants on the beach area and walk to Rua Herois de Franca and you will find an array of very reasonably priced fish restaurants. We paid €6.50 for sardines with potatoes, note one portion is enough for 2 for lunch.

We also did the 6 Bridges Tours which is very reasonably priced at 10 euros for an hour along the river.

Oporto is a very welcoming city and we ate very well during our stay and we enjoyed the wonderful Portuguese wines, especially in the wonderful Wine Quay Bar where the hosts epitomised Oportos friendly hospitality at its best !

Enjoy your stay in this lovely city
Josephine & Paul
Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wellywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been traveling in Spain and Portugal for 3 1/2 weeks - by far our worst experience. We come every year.

Booked because Tripadvisor's Certificate of Excellence normally means something. Not here. Our room was booked online and we had a street view. Tiny room (number 311) had smelly foyer hallway (smelled moldy, mildewy). Tap water smelled like sulphur or sewage and had unpleasant taste. There are NO CHAIRS in the room. If you want to read - in bed it is.

The internet service must be renewed every time you return to your room and you need new password and user name every 24 hours.

The front desk crew is attractively dressed and groomed, but are of absolutely NO assistance. We mentioned some of the odor problems to 3 of them and they each reacted as if no one had ever mentioned any problems.

They didn't know the best area restaurants. They couldn't explain where to take the Tourist Tram (Number 1) that follows the river to the beach. This is our fourth trip to Porto and we selected the hotel because we like the Ribeira area and the Pestana Porto was booked - not to mention tripadvisor's Certificate of Elegance - what a shame.

This is a gorgeous city and top rated hotels should be better.

On upside - lobby is attractively furnished and location is convenient.

Room Tip: If you're still going to stay here - good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sljsbhHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and website appeal and we could not be happier with our choice. We booked a room with a view and got a 4th floor beauty overlooking the bridge, the douro river and the ribera. They only have a few of these rooms and they are smaller than the rest, but so well appointed that the size didn't matter. Super comfy king size bed, see- through rain shower, a little balcony...we fell asleep with the windows open- could not get enough of the seagulls chanting. Easy walk to everything- both in Porto and Vila Gaia- , a block away from the river (and the pricier Pestana hotel), stylish and incredibly affordable- this hotel is quintessential Porto at its best.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is situated near the river in a stone building. The decor is quite unique with steel staircases and artwork placed all around. The room was very comfortable and met all of our needs. The two things that really stood out in my mind were Paulo (I think that was his name. He was the night concierge) and another gentleman who drove a free shuttle to El Corte Inglese. My friends and I are foodies, so we wanted to eat at local restaurants, not places that catered to tourists. Paulo gave us wonderful recommendations, and he was willing to give us new ones each night. If you like to get a taste of shopping in another country, this hotel provides a free shuttle service to El Corte Inglese (a very big department store with a supermarket). The driver was so friendly and willing to answer all our questions about Portugal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Location couldn't be better. We had a Juliet balcony with fantastic views over ther river. Service was good. Unfortunately, the Internet did not work on the top floor. I'd recommend staying here to all friends and family.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thestresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at Carris Porto in Feb this year and had a wonderful stay even though the pavement out front was being redone. We upgraded to a deluxe room and it was well worth. The hotel has been refurbished from an old Port warehouse and it has been really well. The reception area has a lot exposed stone work well set off with modern stainless steel and glass.

The room is well appointed and some people may find the window from the bedroom into the bathroom a little off putting, but we found it quite sexy, this can be overcome by shutting a blind. The staff are very friendly and will suggest places to see and have plenty of material to give out.

The bar area served as a great meeting place where the barman will rustle up any number of cocktails. The hotel's restaurant is set in the basement with exposed brickwork again and the menu will suit anyone but would suggest only using it once if you are on a short stay. If you turn right out of the front door and then right again you can walk down to the river front where splendid view of the metal bridge lit up at night. There are also plenty of watering holes along the front and a great restaurant in what translates as the rabbit hutch, don't be put off by the rabbit in a hutch out front, this is a pet lol, and yes we did ask.

On the whole this is a great hotel to base yourself for a visit to Porto with it's Port houses and tasting's just across the river, to the city's fine buildings. If you fancy a trip to the coast it is just a short vintage tram ride away whch is just a 3 min walk away.

A great hotel for a weekend away that is value for money, centrally placed yet quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 111 in Porto
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#31 of 111 in Porto
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $98 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing