We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic but modern hotel ideal for exploring Porto on foot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carris Porto Ribeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Historic but modern hotel ideal for exploring Porto on foot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just walked in off the street and were greeted by a most informative young man on reception who booked us into a superb room in this recently opened hotel just back from the river close to the bridge, in the heart of Porto. The building dates back to Roman times and the hotel is a clever mix of ancient exposed masonry with ultra modern art work and facilities. Our room was quiet, a good size with comfortable beds. The sparkling modern en-suite had the interesting feature of a window onto the bedroom - but electric blinds can be lowered to preserve one's modesty! Breakfast, included in the price, offered a wide selection of hot and cold fresh items as well as freshly squeezed orange juice. Parking is in a nearby underground car park but the hotel's central location means it's ideal for exploring the city, the riverside and port houses on the opposite bank on foot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    347
    98
    33
    17
See reviews for
115
427
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Modern, clean hotel in a great location. Booked a junior suite, that had two balconies, bed, couch and two TVs. View of the Duoro, and a two minute walk down to it. Quiet and free WiFi. If you take the train to Porto, just take a taxi to hotel, 8 euros and well worth it as the nearest Metro is a 10 minute walk. There is construction in front of the hotel but wasn't a noise problem. Will book again for next trip to Porto (which is an amazing city).

Helpful?
2 Thank Quickening
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really quirky hotel, crispy clean, built on old ruins ( which sometimes means that the rooms are too small), but it has a great atmosphere with really caring staff, who go out of their way for you. Really enjoyed my stay there, being so close to the River Douro and all those riverside bars and restaurants. Only downside was the roadworks going on outside which could get in the way of movement, but didn't detract from the visit. Porto was a really friendly place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved the design of this bright cheerful hotel, a restored Cod factory. All glass, old stone and metal. Excellent location to all the action on the waterfront and walking over to the port warehouses for tastings. Rooms were very tiny, no place to put suitcases. We upgraded to be more comfortable re- space. Suite with sofa, only a queen bed, two TV's and great view and two balconies. The suite beside us was two levels, bedroom above so when those people were going up all we could hear was clumping of them using the steel stairs in their suite! Weird! Unfortunately the amplification of sound from the surrounding streets, waterfront entertainment was hard to take late in the day if you wanted to rest up for the evening. Road work outside the hotel wasn't a problem on the weekend for noise. The restaurant was fine for lunch but for the 'included' breakfast it was the worst we had in our Iberian tour. Eggs cooked hours before and left to dry under heating lamps, uncooked tough bacon, perpetual dried ham and doughy pastries. Language issues at times. They seemed to have trouble knowing 'once over' meant and it took forever to get the order. Never the less it was okay.

Room Tip: Think about what is important when you book- location, room comfort or view or quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tularosa, NM
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Despite the road work it was very quiet inside. The staff was very accomodating. Breakfast was good and the ambience pleasant. Location excellent, one block from the river and lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Clean and well taken care of. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is in a great location close to the Duro river. The building has been converted from an old port house to a beautiful hotel. The decor is modern and of a very high standard. Both mornings we were there we had to rush breakfast our fault but there was a good selection of food. Staff were excellent. We would stay again if in Porto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan_kee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in June 2012. We got a great deal on our stay!! The hotel was recently renovated and it is very nice and modern. The room was great and bed was comfortable. The only downside to our room was the lack of closet space. The staff was helpful and attentive. The hotel has a very cute restaurant and bar that is worth checking out. You cannot beat the location. It is within walking distance to major sites and the Duro River. We found a cute bakery around the corner from the hotel that we walked to in the morning for coffee and pastries. My favorite thing about it was the proximity to the river which is very lovely at night.

Room Tip: Obvious tip: ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjean11511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#19 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#26 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Property: Carris Porto Ribeira
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing