We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having read the reviews about room size, we opted for a junior suite and had room 502 on the top floor. As another reviewer remarked, this is right in the eaves, and was a little noisy due to the incessant rain on the roof! .
The room itself was large, but we found it quite dark. There was one small window, with beautiful views to the river, but limited lighting in the room. The bed was comfortable, and huge, but I did manage to flood the bathroom with the shower over the bath on the first day.
We appreciated having a kettle in the room so we could make our own tea and coffee during the day
There was a strange 'drain' like smell, which we reported to the front desk, who were concerned, but this seemed to be prevalent at other places over Porto, not just the hotel, so perhaps it was the rain?
Front desk staff were always very helpful, providing us with a loan umbrella, and great at giving us directions and recommendations for restaurants.
Minor criticism is that the 'hot' food at breakfast was lukewarm - we went at various times during our stay, both early and late.
Having looked at the locations and other hotels in Porto, think we made a great choice. Would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank domestic_goddess68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    349
    101
    34
    18
See reviews for
118
433
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zaandam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in a superior room (412) for 5 nights.
The room was quite small, but we did have a balcony and river view, which makes the room "superior", the view was just stunning!
The bed was very comfortable, as was the shower (bathroom is quite big).
Wifi wasn't working very well on the fourth floor, and there is only very little space to put you clothes (especially dresses, overknee dresses just won't fit).
Breakfast was great, fresh coffee and a varied selection of foods to choose from.

The hotel itself looks very nice, combining modern furniture with the historic aspects of the building.

If you plan to stay here, I would recommend asking for a riverside room, otherwise your room will be at a busy street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86anouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The design and decor of this former old warehouse are stunning. The rooms are lovely, quiet and quite comfortable. Staff communicate well in English and are both efficient and accommodating. The location is perfect, near the popular waterfront area. Excellent choice in Porto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a beautiful Hotel in a renovated building. Very modern and of an exceptional high standard, however, we had a major proble with the Air Conditioning in our room, which never went below 30c for three nights, dispite my complaining to the front Desk.
Also don't take the Breakfast offer as this was very limited and always cold, no matter what time we partook.

This Hotel is located right near the River and set in a great location.

Room Tip: Check out the Aircon prior to taking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidvbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were going to blow the budget and go to the Yeatman, and I am so glad sense prevailed! It's a converted historic building one street up from the river - so all the views and proximity to life without the clatter. The Carris was so much more than we anticipated. The breakfast was varied, plentiful and served in a charming space. The staff throughout were helpful, efficient and smiley. Our room was a joy. I'd asked for a river view and boy did we get one! We were in the attic of the hotel with wonderful sloping eaves and a window overlooking the fantastic historic roof tops to the Douro. Each morning we would sit and watch the river wake up, each evening we could see the people putting away their boats. It was a joy and with a spectacular bathroom as well. Thoroughly recommended, and we are already putting a group together to go back next year!

Room Tip: 502 was a delight if you are ok with the eaves but they do have some lower with little balconies as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had the most relaxing stay. From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the door by two of the cheerful reception staff (one was a trainee) we knew we'd made the right choice. The decor was different and beautiful, and was very impressive and consistent throughout. Our room was completely gorgeous and very relaxing; we found it spacious and very comfortable - definitely one of the best night's sleep. We didn’t have breakfast but did have dinner and a late lunch in the restaurant, the restaurant is really convenience and found it was a very tasty, traditional.

The Hotel is right in the centre of things, and it seemed quite safe. Furthermore, the hotel is within a 30 seconds walk of to the river. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in Porto. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!
We stayed in the junior suite, room 304. Totally awesome view.
Check out my photos of the room. http://flic.kr/s/aHsjC8idym

Room Tip: Room 304, Junior Suite. A really good room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAi979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

It was hard to find a hotel in Oporto as everything seemed super expensive. The alternative was a business hotel far from the center. This hotel was reasonably priced and you can't beat the location. It's right on the river, very close to the Dom Luis bridge (get read to feel those calf muscles burn as you hike your way up town). The decor is modern but not impersonal, though it's a bit of a labyrinth. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was pretty good but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: It's better to try to get a room in the main building or you have to take the elevator, walk dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#22 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#19 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Property: Carris Porto Ribeira
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing