We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had the most relaxing stay. From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the door by two of the cheerful reception staff (one was a trainee) we knew we'd made the right choice. The decor was different and beautiful, and was very impressive and consistent throughout. Our room was completely gorgeous and very relaxing; we found it spacious and very comfortable - definitely one of the best night's sleep. We didn’t have breakfast but did have dinner and a late lunch in the restaurant, the restaurant is really convenience and found it was a very tasty, traditional.

The Hotel is right in the centre of things, and it seemed quite safe. Furthermore, the hotel is within a 30 seconds walk of to the river. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in Porto. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!
We stayed in the junior suite, room 304. Totally awesome view.
Check out my photos of the room. http://flic.kr/s/aHsjC8idym

Room Tip: Room 304, Junior Suite. A really good room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAi979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 962 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

It was hard to find a hotel in Oporto as everything seemed super expensive. The alternative was a business hotel far from the center. This hotel was reasonably priced and you can't beat the location. It's right on the river, very close to the Dom Luis bridge (get read to feel those calf muscles burn as you hike your way up town). The decor is modern but not impersonal, though it's a bit of a labyrinth. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was pretty good but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: It's better to try to get a room in the main building or you have to take the elevator, walk dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved the style of the hotel (you feel like you are in modern cellars) and it is right next to all the great restaurants and cafes, without hearing any noise from it. We slept extremely well and were amazed we could get such a nice place for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiphtoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Porto and picked this hotel based on its trip Advisior reviews,This hotel is very nice, With modern design and plenty of funky seating in the reception areas. Room was a good size and had an attractive bathroom and large flat screen TV. No wardrobe space which is the only minus.We were at the back of the hotel, so no traffic noise but not a good view.
Breakfast offered a good choice but all standard fare.We ate in the hotel tapas bar and food was delicious.
The hotel is very handy for the Ribeiro district and is just a few minutes walk away, however the pavements are quite uneven so flat shoes are a must.
Staff are really helplful and always smiling. Would return here anytime.

Room Tip: We had room 213 which is on the back and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in August 2012. The rooms are very comfortable and we had no problem getting a good nights sleep. The restaurant and tapas are first class.Staff very helpful. A very central hotel with easy access to all the attractions.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieBoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After arriving via the Airport and Metro we took the walk from Sau Bento down the hill. A local sent us on a bit of a detour but we found the hotel eventually. We checked in quickly and went to our room which we found to be very very small especially considering we booked Superior.
After a phone call to reception they came and moved us to a room "over the bridge" in the annex. This room was much larger and had great bathroom, Huge TV and safe etc. Only problem was the view was of someones washing. This didn't really affect us but just so others are aware.
We booked breakfast but because of our room change they queried all three times we went down as they hadn't got us on the list. Good selection especially of pastries etc. Only gripe was that the hot selection wasn't hot at all on any of the days.
Bar was nice and not over priced and the location couldn't be bettered for the River.
Couple of Improvements (and a more info on the website about difference in rooms) and this could be a great rather than very good.

Room Tip: Be careful about room selection - ask the hotel depending on your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beduffshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the location was perfect for exploring the sights of Porto. We parked nearby, the garage was 20euro/day.

The room was very clean and large, excellent bed, robes, and towels. Shower was in the bath though.

The wifi unfortunately didn't reach up to our floor (5th floor) which was disappointing, but the hotel loaned us a cable to use with laptop, but would be frustrating if we did not have that.

The location was right near the river front, where there is a lot of activity at night, many cafe's and bars. Also you are close to walk up hill for maybe 10minutes, and you are in the city centre, where there are an equal number of cafe's, plus a Subway sandwich shop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_www
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 111 in Porto
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#31 of 111 in Porto
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $99 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing