We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beyond what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Porto Hostel
Ranked #59 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Orsay, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beyond what I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

There's anything to complain about Magnolia hostel, everything here is quite perfect for a hostel: cleanliness, near the Sao Bento train station, free city map, cheap and notably the service very good. The Internet with voice chat and webcam are free and the staffs are really nice and friendly, including the staffs in the night service. I was in the PRIVATE room and honestly I can't believe it costs only 20e/person/night for what I've got during my journey.

I will absolutely return to Magnolia again when I travel to Oporto again, it's now time to make a new plan for the come back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinhvu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
50
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

The hostel was just awesome, awesome staff, very nice building, everything was just perfect.... and it was very cheap ;)

Now i know where i will sleep when i visit to Oporto again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Magnolia is very nice and clean hostel. Staff is friendly and smart, rooms are new and clean and breakfast is proper.
It is situated not in the down town but it is not a problem for a walk. In Porto architecture is very interesting. We have traveled by car. It is no any free parking at the hostel (weekends only).
I would recommend Magnolia as very good accommodation at very good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hostel made my trip our trip to Porto. The outstanding staff went out of their way to help us out with everything including great travel tips. The hostel itself was modern and immaculate with each room a different vibrant yet cosy colour and decorated with ecclectic touches. One of the best hostels we've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castelfranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Mimhostel
Mimhostel
#58 of 213 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Alive Hostel
Porto Alive Hostel
#73 of 213 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spot Oporto Hostel
Spot Oporto Hostel
#16 of 213 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garden House Hostel Porto
0.5 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Oporto Invictus Hostel
Oporto Invictus Hostel
#35 of 213 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Porto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Porto Hostel

Property: Magnolia Porto Hostel
Address: Avenida Rodrigues de Freitas 387, Porto 4000-422, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Porto Hostel is the perfect base to discover everything that Porto has to offer. located in the city centre, a 5 minute walk from metro station and with very easy access to all of the city's attractions, it’s the perfect spot for anyone who wants to immerse themselves in the city’s culture or explore its vibrant night life.our newly renovated building combines typical Porto architecture with a relaxed and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Porto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Porto Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing