We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING 4 ROOMS,PORTO - MAGICAL!”
Review of THE 4ROOMS

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
THE 4ROOMS
Ranked #46 of 169 Porto B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed three nights in late September /October 2012 and our daughter who lives in London joined us here. We stayed in the Garden Loft Room,1st floor, which has a private access to one of the side streets.The room was beautiful - fantastic bed linen and amenities throughout the room. A very special place to stay. 4 Rooms is modern, architecturally very clever and the rooms and areas maintain a very private atmosphere whilst you stay there.

From the moment we arrived in our car - GPS got us there - just couldn't see the number to begin with. However, a lovely lady directed us to the exact spot. We met Catarina at the front door and she welcomed us into a haven. She parked our car for us and that was the last we needed it until we left. The buses are very close by and easy and cheap to get into town (Catarina's suggestion).

If you want to stay anywhere in Porto I would suggest you stay here at 4 Rooms, in the 'old town'. It is away from the busy central city of Porto and you feel like you are in a different world. It was lovely to come back to 4 Rooms at the end of our days visiting the sights - sit and have a glass of wine and a chat.

The breakfasts are certainly amazing. You are given a time to have your breakfast which makes it very individual. We loved how the breakfasts were presented, wonderful yoghurts, fresh fruit and the cooked part of the breakfasts - each day there was something different. Also, a big thank you to Catarina for catering for our daughter's gluten intolerance - she was very appreciative of this and thought the breakfasts were wonderful.

Catarina's suggestions for eating our were great - a lovely little tappas bar close to 4 Rooms and also the Fooding House (20-30 minute walk away) - this was exceptional - great food and atmosphere. Small but typically Portuguese. We didn't speak Portuguese but got by and ordered some amazing dishes. We thought it was one of the best meals we had in Portugal.

I have already told people about 4 Rooms, Porto - if you want something different, modern, great hospitality and something you will remember - stay here - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Loft Room - very special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stoddardhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 326 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

4Rooms is the kind of place you will remember forever. It is located on a quiet street in a charming part of Porto, about 15 minutes (easy and inexpensive tram or bus ride) away from the bustling center of town. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby - places where locals, not tourists, eat and shop.

4Rooms is located in an area called Foz where the Douro River meets the Atlantic Ocean. It is apparently the old port area of Porto. Views (only a few blocks from the inn) are dramatic.

We rented the Loft, which is the largest room in this small inn. It is self contained and across the street from the other rooms. Totally private.

Your jaw will drop as you enter 4Rooms. Everything is perfect. From the iMac/TV to the small dining table to the comfy bed, espresso machine and bathroom. Breakfast is delivered to your room daily (see photo) from a local fine restaurant.

I can recommend 4Rooms without any reservations whatsoever.

Room Tip: The Loft is a large room, almost like a separate apartment. The other rooms are smaller and in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

4Rooms has the WOW factor! Loved staying outside the city near the ocean. The bus and trolley were in walking distance. The rooms are utra modern. Catarina is the bonus -- she arranged a driver for the day to take us to the Duoro Valley, gave us dinner suggestions, and helped us navigate around Porto. She even parked our car in a garage. This place was the highlight of our trip to Portugal. We are still talking about it.

Room Tip: The garden room on the 1st floor is lovely and has a little sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I very much enjoyed staying at 4rooms. The room was fantastic, the continental breakfast was beautifully presented and of very good quality and Catarina went beyond the call of duty to make our stay a very pleasant one. 4rooms is situated on the "old town" with very narrow roads and very quite. We experienced very good cuisine in surrounding restaurants recommended by Catarina. Transport was very easy to access. I will be going back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Could not fault it! Although it's not located in the centre of Porto it's in a great location, in the real Porto. Caterina was so helpful in her suggestions, as we were on our honeymoon my parents in law wanted to surprise us with a dinner on one night - they liaised with 4 Rooms to arrange it and everything from the champagne in our room, to the car that picked us up and brought us back through to the dinner was perfect.

We stayed in the Double N room, while the room was small it had everything we needed and there was a courtyard and lounge downstairs for extra space.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

4Rooms provided everything you need in a European city hotel: good location, top notch appointments and friendly and helpful staff.

As mentioned in other reviews, the B&B is well located on a quiet street in a locals neighborhood. Everything was walking, trolly or bus accessible from the location.

Our suite was well thought out and beautifully designed. Everything was fresh, modern and immaculate. It is obvious the design was made by architects and that they furnished with first an attention to detail and quality decor. The breakfasts were fabulous!

Caterina was warm and helpful and offered wonderful hospitality and guidance. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This gem of a place is the perfect getaway for solo/couples or friends. The women that run the place, treat it like it's their own place and that you're an invited guest. The atmosphere of the decor is plush and fuctional. Location is very, very accessible to Porto and the restaurants aound Foz are among the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boa Vista
Hotel Boa Vista
#49 of 108 in Porto
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Porto Foz
Residencial Porto Foz
#75 of 108 in Porto
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flattered To Be In Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Casa de Cadoucos
#128 of 253 in Porto
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa das Laranjas
Casa das Laranjas
#59 of 169 in Porto
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Porto Foz Velha 4 Flats
#156 of 253 in Porto
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE 4ROOMS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE 4ROOMS

Address: Rua Padre Luis Cabral 1015, Porto 4150-464, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — THE 4ROOMS 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4Rooms is a stylish Bed & Breakfast located in a narrow, winding street of one of the most charming and fashionable Porto districts - the historical old Foz - where the Douro river meets the Atlantic Ocean.Bringing together history, tradition, attentiveness and architectural excellence this place was created to enjoy an unforgettable experience.It was designed by the internationally awarded architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, Pritzker Prize winner 2011, and it is catered for by the exquisit Restaurant Pedro Lemos, which provides all food and beverages served to our guests.Besides, we work with several more carefully selected partners in order to provide the most enjoyable products, amenities and services to our guests in Porto and around Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your THE 4ROOMS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4rooms, Al Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing