We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Franceshina”
Review of Cafe Santiago

Cafe Santiago
Ranked #208 of 2,262 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family Café/Restaurant, open since 1959, typical from Porto, which serves the most appreciated by locals citizens Francesinha, the famous and multi awarded Francesinha Santiago(R)
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I think its the best Franceshina in Porto city area. You should try! Its sad but we split with wife. But its still good size of lunch.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank JuhaM194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 4,174 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch following our host’s recommendation, deciding to share a traditional francesinha which was enormous and served with fries which we didn’t eat, we were so full. Friendly staff, hearty food at a good price, worth a visit.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Gilly1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food but make sure you go with an empty stomach. The francesinha is very filling. We had fries with ours that really were not needed. If we go again, we'd share one portion of fries between us. Cold beer and all at reasonable prices. You might have to queue to get a table at busy times but we didn't have to wait for long.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 898glynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I am fairly certain that it not possible to have a bad francesinha, I am just as certain that it is hard to get better than the ones that Café Santiago puts out. The service was very quick and our food arrived in a timely manner. While I opted for the original francesinha, others in our party went for the Café Santiago variation (which adds a fried egg on top). If you don't speak a word of Portuguese, just point to the picture of the francesinha on your placemat and you will be just fine. We left extremely content and didn't end up eating another meal the rest of the day. Come hungry and leave happy!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went there to try the famous francesinha: it wasn't so heavy as I expected but also the taste wasn't so special. The place is very simple with and excellent service. There is a line for entering but it's maximum for 10 minutes.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank kygian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Santiago also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cafe Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing