We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special experiance”
Review of Cafe Santiago

Cafe Santiago
Ranked #93 of 1,653 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family Café/Restaurant, open since 1959, typical from Porto, which serves the most appreciated by locals citizens Francesinha, the famous and multi awarded Francesinha Santiago(R)
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Special experiance”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a must. If you want to try franseshina this is the place to eat it. On arrival go to a waiter to give your name. They will give you a table when one is free. Friendly staff but little english but thats ok. We had to wait a while, the place is popular even for locals. The interior is what it is. Nothing fancy or special. But you have to go its a great experiance. I loved it and will never forget it. Not for people on a diet ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannesroets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    1,007
    324
    56
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service and great Francesinha”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our local hosts. We enjoyed the Francesinha (VERY filling though, I would have no more than 1 person out of 2 order fries with theirs and then share) and the staff are very friendly. The fries seemed to be made their- spotted a ton of potatoes downstairs on my way to the (clean) toilets. The restaurant is bigger than it looks and the terrace was perfect for a sunny day. Highly recommended! We got there about 1 and it got pretty busy after that, but worth a wait if there is one. Also, the white wine was so nice and cheap we asked if the price was wrong (it wasn't).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelwasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“francesinha perfect spot”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went there a few days ago. The francesinha is just amazing. Try to get there after four o'clock so it would not be that busy. This place is reasonably priced as well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcinM426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had the francheschina house specialty sandwich and it was great. This is a great spot for good food at reasonable price

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaimeM619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Francesinha”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Yet another cafe famous for the francesinhas. Always pretty crowded. Reasonable to poor service. Not the best francesinha but a very decent one indeed (top 10 for sure!)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bvspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Santiago also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cafe Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing