We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 3 Francesinha”
Review of Cafe Santiago

Cafe Santiago
Ranked #96 of 1,657 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family Café/Restaurant, open since 1959, typical from Porto, which serves the most appreciated by locals citizens Francesinha, the famous and multi awarded Francesinha Santiago(R)
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top 3 Francesinha”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It's not what you expect from a restaurant, it's more like a café, so if you're on a low budget, don't miss it. Plenty of other choises rather Francesinha, but once you're there you'll see that 90% of people are there for Francesinha.
Thursday they serve another typical Porto dish: Tripas. Also recommended.
the place is always full and it's noisy. I simply go there by the taste of the food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSP_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    1,038
    333
    57
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice setting”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we really where looking forward to try the famouse speciality of Porto, the Francesinah. We wanted to try a good one, so we got recommended this restaurant. We enjoyed everything in the restaurant, staff was friendly, but the Francesinah is not our cup of tea I guess!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
“The Best Frenchy Sandwich from Porto other than "Tappas Caffe"”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

So my boyfriend took me here since he is from Porto, the atmosphere was great, and 2nd to best francesinha that i had eaten up to until now! The best part was the french fries dipped in the sauce!!!!!!!! Yummmm!!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good honest "Francesinha"”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Known for "Francesinha", it's a restaurant where the specialty is particularly delicious (no changes or additions that sometimes only worsen the dish).

Good price, you may want to arrive early (the restaurant is always full).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Allegedly the best Franchesihna in Porto”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

After asking both the people in my hotel and your guide where I could find the best Franchesihna in Porto - they both immediately said this place.

I was very eager to try this as I had already had one at a different place and could not imagine how it could get better.

We walked in with a group of friends and everyone as far as I could see was having one - good sign.

It was very tasty, and the sauce was amazing but my fries were a bit soggy and too oily. They also didn't take credit cards - which was annoying because I was running low on cash.

I'm not sure it was the best Franchesihna but it was pretty good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraiNunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Santiago also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cafe Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing