We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word EXCELLENT”
Review of Costume Bistro

Costume Bistro
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #140 of 2,262 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 25, 2019

We were a group of 10 and booked last minute via the web. On arrival we were greeted by the super lady maitre d. We had mentioned on the booking that one of our party was gluten intolerant. How refreshing, often we spend most of our dining out having to remind staff, not here, She was all over it, identifying what could be eaten and offering advice on what could be amended. This continued throughout the evening...and the next.

To add to this the food and overall service by all of the staff was 1st class and friendly. We have eaten in so say "top" venues and in my opinion this restaurant was up there.

As indicated above we were so impressed we booked the following night and once again just superb.

The restaurant is not the easiest to find but well worth a visit.

PS if there is a michelin starred restaurant looking for an MD............

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobbymoore06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaSantos18, Gerente de relações com clientes at Costume Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Dear Bobby Moore,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We are glad that you and your guests enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Costume Bistrô Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 671 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2019

We were staying at Eurostars Porto Centro hotel which does not provide evening meals. Costume Bistro was just round the corner and down an alleyway (Travessa dos Congregados), so very conveniently placed. It is unprepossessing from the outside but has a lovely restaurant room towards the rear. We ate there twice and the service and food were excellent on both occasions. Staff were particularly friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaSantos18, Gerente de relações com clientes at Costume Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Dear Trevor,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience on Costume Bistrô.

It was a pleasure for us ti welcome you twice and we are looking forward to host you again soon.

Kind regards,

Costume Bistrô Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

This small but very elegant restaurant is located near the city hall and a great find. I can recommend the goat cheese in katifi and ravioli, lovely to have fresh handmade pasta. We asked for a white wine recommendation and discovered Fagote, which was excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carmela83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaSantos18, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Costume Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Dear Caramela83,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to welcone you and we are looking forward to host you again soon.

Regards,

Costume Bistrô Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Did some research in advance and booked dinner here for last night. Cozy place, good background music and overall ambiance. We had the goat cheese appetizer with salad - it was delicious covered in a phyllo nest and served with a great salad that cut the richness of the cheese. Husband had the steak - he loved the sauce and it was cooked perfectly to his liking - french fries were delicious. I had the stuffed chicken with mushroom risotto. Delicious.- breaded and rolled (no bones) panko breaded and I guess deep fried to get the outside crispy. We shared the caramel fondant cake with sorbet for dessert. It was outstanding. We also had a nice Portuguese red from Douro valley. Food and ambiance excellent. Service very attentive to start but toward the end was very slow - as the place got busier later in the evening it was difficult to get attention. Even with a delay in our service at the end, I would certainly go back - the food is amazing!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 710mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaSantos18, Gerente de relações com clientes at Costume Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience on Costume Bistrô.

We work very hard everyday so we can provide oir dear guests the best service and an unforgettable experience.

We are lookong forward to host you again soon.

Kind regards,

Costume Bistrô Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

So we wanted to go to the place next door but it was fully booked so we came here. The decor is lovely and great for a date night. Service was ok. The waiter was quick with the ordering of food and there was no wine menu initially provided. The service thereafter was the same as everywhere else - pretty slow.
We shared the duck and mushroom salad. Simple and nothing special- too much balsamic. Big portion for one so I’d say share. The table next to us ordered the goats cheese which looked big but they shared. We both had the iberico pork for main. Husband enjoyed it more than me. I thought it was just ok. Of course iberico is a stunning cut so can’t complain over the pork.
Wine was good. Service through the meal was meh. Would I come back? Probably not. Felt a bit style over substance for me.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank nishap81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaSantos18, Gerente de relações com clientes at Costume Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Nishap81,

We would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience on our restaurant.

We are sorry that your experience was not what you wish it was. We work hard everyday so we can provide the best for our dear guests, so your opinionnis very important to us.

We would like to invite you to visit us again soon so you can change your perspective about our service and gastronomy.

Kind regards,

Costume Bistrô Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costume Bistro also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Costume Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing