We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of approbation!”
Review of Costume Bistro

Costume Bistro
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 5/27
8:00 PM
Ranked #148 of 2,207 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 13, 2019

I think this might be the most amazing arrangement of food that I have ever eaten.

A beautiful composition it is deserving of an award from the starters to the dessert every course built on the previous one to create an extravaganza for all the senses.

Dessert,
A fresh lemon meringue pie with a perfect almost sponge crust and pillowy mounds of perfectly caramelized meringue on curd so smooth and structured it held its shape to the last bite.

Caramel fondant with tangerine and Raspberry sorbet. The shell of the fondant was smooth and light without becoming soggy with the rich caramel sauce began to ouze out and paired like heaven with the light sorbet.

The chocolate cake with mousse was dark and well balanced. It was not so sweet as to overwhelm the chocolate flavour or so bitter as to distract or require a drink. Paired with the oh so smooth mousse it turned me into a chocolate lover.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sochi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 659 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

Excellent staff, food, and location, the restaurant is beautiful, however the staff is very friendly and professional. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Porto.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Simonmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

We ordered and shared the sweet and sour shrimp rolls - very good. Then the Mushroom Risotto and I had the Beef Wellington. The risotto was perfectly cooked and presented. The Wellington was a disappointment! Covered in sauce - it saturated what could have been nice pastry into a soggy mess. The meat - although cooked properly was not tenderloin - it was very dry and tough - even with the sauce. Such a pity!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Bobbypu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

When you are in front of the restaurant in a so little street, you are not really convience to push the door. Just do it, this restaurant has a very high quality cooking, it’s tasty, good, home made for sure, and the service is pefect.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank gillesc212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

This restaurant is tucked away up a little pedestrianised side street but it is well worth the effort to find. We visited on a busy Friday night but even so, the service was very good and friendly. The food was simply excellent - prepared and cooked to perfection. We highly recommend any of the beef main dishes. I had the beef wellington - the portion was very generous and the quality of the meat was so good you could have eaten it uncooked (but medium rare worked very well). Good selection of wines at very good price. We were a party of 5 adults, we had an aperitif, three courses with two bottles of wine and the cost was under 200 Euros. If we ever come back to Porto, we will definitely go back to this restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costume Bistro also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Costume Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing