We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astonishing good cuisine!! Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Costume Bistro

Costume Bistro
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Costume Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 1,633 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $18 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Reggio Emilia, Italia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Astonishing good cuisine!! Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I found Costume Bistro on the Porto Card booklet, and we decided to try it...well it really really really rocked our socks off!
As appetizers we got the chestnut soup, good but not so special, and I can't remember the name of the second one bu it was some king of fondant sausage tart, which was good!
Then as an entree we split the duck with red berry sauce, potato puree and olives...that was amazing!!! The duck was soft and soooo tasty!! Incredible!!
As a dessert we split the guava and maracuja one...OMG!! By far the best dessert I've ever had!! My taste buds couldn't believe it!!
We had a glass of wine each and the Port wine with the desssert!

Total check was 43€, but with the PortoCard we had a 15% discount so we ended up spending a little over 18€ each!! We couldn't believe that either...of course we didn't get so many dishes, but were full in the end! Such an honest bill to eat sooo well! INCREDIBLE!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elenagalli89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    92
    32
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unforgettable tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My friend and I were exploring and just stumbled into this little restaurant on a back alley in Porto. We ordered from the menu of starters because it was early for dinner. The scallops and cauliflower mousseline were perfectly prepared from high quality ingredients, but the next dish - foie gras on toast points - really knocked my socks off because the foie gras was so silky and mild.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank megsthelegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latina, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Like being at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We accidentally bumped into this enchanting restaurant which give us at first sight the impression of being a quite refined place. Well we weren't deceived at all. Everything was superb, from the chestnut consomme and brisè parmigiana as starters, right through the second courses: veal filet and the fish and the delicious cakes! Not to mention the excellent suggestion of the red local wine. The young man who served us was discreet and humbly helpfull. The price? Fairly good considering that the prices were written on the menù and we didn't want to miss out tasting anything. Why at home? Because i'm Italian and i'm used to eating really well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank todos_olivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent place for non-traditional cousine in Porto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

When visiting Porto, friends took us to the Costume, one of their vavorite restaurants in the city. The restaurant has a great, modern design, it's chic and welcoming (there are some great fotos on http://oportocool.wordpress.com/2010/06/01/costume-bistro/). The menu is the opposite of most Portuguese restaurants - the dishes sound innovative and intriguing. Also the starters list is tempting and we tried several - all very nicely prepared and presented. As a main I'd suggest the monkfish and prawn curry - a radical departure from those typical sauce-based curries that entirely drown what's in it. Excellent stuff. Together with great service and an extensive wine list this was a fine dinign experience at moderate prices - main dishes ran from about 14-18 Euro, starters were about 4-7, deserts all 5,50. Very recommendable

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nkerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Costume Bistro is well worth recommending!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Had fantastic meal here. Food was very good and the service was excellent! Staff were very friendly and there was a great atmosphere. Clearly a very popular restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costume Bistro also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Costume Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing