We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No respect for the client”
Review of Residencial Lunar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencial Lunar
Ranked #147 of 173 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had room n°14 at the first floor, next to the reception. I payed 25 euro/night. The room has beds for 3 persons. I stayed there for more then one week, because my budget didn't alowed a higher room rate and most of other places were booked completely when I arrived at Porto (mids august). Every morning, starting even at 06:15 to 06:30, there was a VERY loud and enthousiast conference going on in the reception at the change of reception personel. The front door was opened permanently for the rest of the day at that time, so the noise of the street (bus station around the corner, many cars, dogs, many seagull's) comes next to your pillow. Some heavy footed persons kept on passing the corridor on a wooden floor, which is in direct contact with the one under your bed. It is as everything happens in your room, just next to your bed. Sleeping gets impossible under these conditions and after some days the sleep deprivation takes his toll. Even other tourists I encountered on terraces in town told me I was looking tired. Needeless to say that after some days I was getting exhausted and had to look for other lodging, at a 50% higher rate, to be sure of a quiet room.
Other remarks: the water from tap was yellowish. There is no airco, no fridge. The female staff member at the reception does not speak or understand any other language. The man understands some foreign words.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walterva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

I arrived at 11pm and was surprised the room was so basic. I went straight to bed as I was so tired. I was woken up around 6am by the cleaner who was very heavy footed and noisy and by the smell in my room which was very musty. I then shed a few tears as I have never stayed in such a horrible room.
I spent the morning trying to find another hotel but every where was either booked up or too expensive. I decided I would have to stay there as it was only for three more nights. I tried to tell the lady how noisy my room was but she really did not have a clue what I was talking about, she knew no English at all. My second night was a little better but I was woken at 6am again.
On the last two nights I had got used to the musty smell only to be greeted by a strong smell of sewage coming from under the floor boards.
The room I had, looked nothing like the rooms on the pictures, it had cobwebs on the walls, ( number 14 ), the bathroom was clean but desperately needed a refurbishment, the shower fell off on my head when I turned the taps off and the bath water was yellow.

Never ever would I return to this hotel and if you go and are put in room 14 ask for another room before you even unpack...

Unfortunately I had to delete my pictures of the room as I needed the space on my camera.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sla66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

the only thing I regret, I didn't ask the name of that lovely lady, who runs the place! She doesn't speak English and, unfortunately, I don't speak Portuguese but that was not a problem at all! She is so helpful and friendly and nice!
Residencial Lunar is rather B&B (but without second B :)) and it's not a problem at all - lots of places either for a light breakfast or for a full meal just a block away.
The entrance inside is covered with beautiful tiles.
I had a double room in Lunar, on the 3d floor, facing the back, for 6 nights. The room was so charming! with dark-wood curved furniture, bed covers were sort of "hand-made" white-cotton-knitted blankets. Everything was just perfect, just on its place, just enough. Clean bed sheets, clean bathroom (with authentic tiles on the walls), plenty of towels, spacious wardrobe, large mirror. I felt so safe, so relaxed, so comfortable!
The front door is locked for the night but there's a 24 hour concierge and if nobody answers at Lunar you just have to walk one door down to Henrique VIII (looks like it's the same management) - never had problem with that!

The bus station (rather bus Garage) to/from Lisbon is just around the corner.
There's a food supermarket Mini Preco around the corner.
Very close to all the attractions and Porto center. About 15 minutes walk from the upper level of Luis Bridge.

Room Tip: don't judge this B&B by the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svetakoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I got a good deal on a room in Residencial Lunar for 3 nights, we specifically did not want to go somewhere too modern and lifeless, and instead wanted a place with old-fashioned charm and comfort, which is precisely what Lunar offers. The double room we had was spacious, with old dark-wood furniture, 2 double beds (although we only needed one!), a big bathroom and an enclosed balcony area, all to the back of the building so no noise from the street below. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and it was a peaceful stay there. The hotel has little in the way of mod-cons i.e. no Internet access, but this was not a problem for us (we work almost constantly with the Internet in our 'normal' lives so really wanted a break from this). Also very centrally located, near some good and cheap restaurants and cafes. Some of the staff who work there during the day do speak English, but the nighttime caretaker speaks only Portuguese, nevertheless all were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My 3 night stay at the 'Residencial Lunar left me with very mixed feelings. First of all it's in a good location, the Batalha area of central Porto. Pretty handy for Porto's tourist areas. Residencial Lunar aint much to look at from the outside. It's a 'walk up' pensão
with a flashing neon light on a half boarded up street. So your first impressions are not the greatest. However upon entering your walk up a nicely tiled walled, and carpeted stairway to a a small but smart reception area. Where i was greeted by a nice middle aged portuguese lady who seemed to own the property. It might be beneficial if like me you can speak a bit of portuguese cos i don't think she could speak any english.
Anyway i signed in (she made me fill out all the paperwork) she picked up my keys, and this is where i found it a bit odd.... Marched me back down the steps on to the street and down to another Residencial (Residencial Henrique VIII) some 2 or 3 doors down that she obviously owned as well.
This too didnt look much from the outside. But again once inside, it was a pleasant surprise. Pretty smart and tidy. I was shown my room (the one used as a promo photo on this website) which was pretty spacious with an ensuite bathroom, all for 22€ a night. Yes it was so old fashioned i half expected when i walked back out onto the street i'd find that Salazar was still president, it did give it a certain charm. There was plenty of wardrobe and draw space. And the bed sheets and pillow cases seemed to be of the good old fashioned sturdy cotton variety. And there was plenty of blankets. Unfortunately the bed cover seemed to have been blighted by a few stray cigarette burns (smoking isnt allowed btw). But all in all i felt i couldnt complain for the price.
However, upon entering the spacious bathroom i noticed a couple of small, dead 'insects' (some would probably say cockroaches) dead on the floor. I kinda shrugged this off but when i returned later that evening i found sveral more dead and dying 'insects' around the bathroom. At this point if my portuguese was better i'd have probably have complained. But the lady i complain to was based at the Residencial Lunar 2 doors up, and i didnt have a key for that place. Anyway she was obviously aware of the problem and must have been putting something down to treat them as like i say they did all seem to be dead or dying, and were confined to just the bathroom. But this problem did persist over my 3 night stay.

I found this a real shame cos this really does have that authentic pensão vibe about it. Other rooms i saw (vacant twin rooms on same floor had there doors left open) seemed clean, more modern, and no insects in their bathrooms. And communal areas seemed spotless. So maybe it was just my bad luck in cos i was a single traveller i got the duff room i dunno. Am sure if i'd have been staying in one of the other rooms i'd have thought this place was great for the price.

On a smaller note this is a b&b without the breakfast. But they is a great Pastelaria just around the corner that seemed popular with backpackers and tourists staying in the number of residencials in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BedfordFalls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank AmsterdamTravelcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hospedaria Monte Sinai
Hospedaria Monte Sinai
#138 of 173 in Porto
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Portuguesa
Residencial Portuguesa
#113 of 173 in Porto
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#27 of 110 in Porto
1,985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 110 in Porto
2,345 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 110 in Porto
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Lunar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Lunar

Address: Rua Duque Loule 184, Porto 4000-324, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $24 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Lunar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencial Lunar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing