We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residencial Porto Madrid
Ranked #128 of 159 Porto B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This place is a little gem!”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

What a find! Thank you to previous TripAdvisor reviewers. I stayed with a small group in Residencial Porto Madrid in April. Our travel arrangements were slightly complicated and involved a couple of deliveries to the hotel. The bookings and reception staff were exceptionally helpful. Nothing was a problem and everything went very smoothly.
Our accommodation was great as was breakfast. Outstandingly good value.
We shall return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Kirk_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    49
    13
    23
See reviews for
22
71
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The previous reviews are all spot on. Here are some photos for proof! The breakfast and staff were a bonus. We recently payed 9 euro each for a similar breakfast in France. The staff kindly helped with honest recommendations and transportation logistics. Manuel knocked on our door to wake us up (no phones in the room) then stood in the doorway at 5 AM endlessly waving goodbye to us- just like my grandma use to do! A fun city to explore and great place to use as "home" base.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

After traveling extensively in western Europe I was worried about booking a place that only cost 30 euros a night. In most other western European cities that would get you a grim room in a sketchy part of town. Not in Portugal! The Residencial Porto Madrid was smart, clean and well run, and just a few minutes walk from the historical center of the city. My room in the back of the hotel was very pleasant, with a tiny balcony overlooking the river. Everything was spotlessly clean and everything worked. Breakfast was the traditional Portugese style with ham, cheese, cake etc., but since it was buffet style you could really eat as much as you wanted. The only downside was that the clerk, while friendly enough, wasn't at all helpful. I asked about a nearby place to eat and was directed to what was obviously a tourist trap, the kind of place where the menu is in English and has pictures of the food. Overall though, the Res. Porto Madrid was great value for the money. I would stay there again on a return visit to Porto.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsman0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Great price for what you get. Area is a little dodgy looking when we arrived in the evening and not sure I would be wandering around by myself but the room had everything we needed, breakfast was included, free wifi, front desk staff also gave all you could ask for and more....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stayed with my girlfriend in Residencial Porto 2 nights in December.
Best quality/price rate I have ever had!
Veeeeery comfortable bed - I still miss it ;-) Delicious breakfast!
And great, pleasant & helpful staff !!!
LUIS is really a golden man -> He can help you 24/7 in every matter.
Take care amigo!
Ate' logo! Muitas felicidades! :))
Kamil (Poland)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesior_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I enjoyed so much staying at this hotel! The guy at the front desk gave us all help and information possible to make our trip to Porto the best ever. Our room was huge and the breakfast had ham, cheese, bread, cakes, 3 types of juices, besides coffe and tea. The hotel is at a walkable distance from Ribeira and the city's historical center, and also has garage spots for those who drive to the city. I would definitely stay there whenever I go back to Porto.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felipecao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#18 of 106 in Porto
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 106 in Porto
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hospedaria Monte Sinai
Hospedaria Monte Sinai
#127 of 159 in Porto
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Porto Novo
Residencial Porto Novo
#130 of 159 in Porto
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Porto Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Porto Madrid

Property: Residencial Porto Madrid
Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano 65, Porto 4000-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Porto Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residencial Porto Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing