We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite restaurant in Porto”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of bbGourmet Maiorca

bbGourmet Maiorca
Reserve with
bbGourmet Maiorca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #265 of 1,631 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $16 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Porto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We also were referred to BB Gourmet by the concierge at the Tiara Park Hotel and were pleasantly surprised by it, both by the menu and the outstanding service. Even though almost everyone in the restaurant spoke conversational English, BBG seems to be focused on the upper middle-class locals living in the immediate neighborhood rather than tourists.

We ate there twice during our stay in Porto. Admittedly, I prefer very fresh, non-aromatic fish and I'm not a fan of bacalao but BBG's was about the best I tasted during our stay in Portugal. Still not a fan but thankfully there were plenty of tasty pasta/seafood options on the menu so my girlfriend could indulge her quest to find the perfect salted cod.

BBG has a good wine list as well as its own retail wine store adjoining the place. Not for nothing, they also served the best vinho verde we tried in Portugal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkTheDoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    94
    30
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Chic little restaurant, food was excellent, I had the sea bass and it was so fresh and cooked to perfection. Lovel selection of desserts and the waitress who served us has great english and will recommend wines if you ask.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank catmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced, nice atmosphere, but food was hype.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I wanted to believe the hype, as most of the restaurants around this part of Porto are trashy, and this place is smart and cool, but I ordered the salmon salad, for ten euro. The lettuce was bitter, the salmon dry, the dill sauce not particularly refined, and the portion on the small aside. Plus, tap water is not available, which is offensive in my opinion. The salads at Casa de Chocolate are higher quality and much better value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherLowrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We choose that restaurant because it was the closest recommended to the hotel. The evening was lovely and we enjoyed the wine and the location. Unluckily the food did not match the standard of this place. Too salty and I bet with half ready ingredients. For me this is a no-go. Pity! For a nice evening with a snack and wine definetly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoJorgeS, Owner at bbGourmet Maiorca, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We read Your comments and wee would like to clarify, that we do not use any preprepared food. All our meals are totally prepared within ou "artisanal" cuisine. We do not use any compounds or preservatives. All ingredinents are special selected from local suppliers. We are very surprised You did not appreciate our food, but we respect. Food is in fact the best attribute customers usually best recognize in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“WOW. Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a GREAT find, thanks to Trip Advisor. Dinner was AMAZING. Sampled everything from their clam, bean and shrimp stew to their pork ribs, roasted peppers, and quail eggs with chorizo. Simply delicious. The resturant is located in a quiet neighborhood, very chic without being pretentious and the staff was friendly and kindly spoke English, as our Portugese was pretty limited. Will definately be back here when we return to Porto!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbus1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bbGourmet Maiorca also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to bbGourmet Maiorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing