We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Porto Centro
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

For the price, the ibis was amazing. The rooms were very clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable, and the front desk was helpful. The free wifi worked great and the blinds kept the room pretty dark in the morning.

The only downside was the location. It's up a steep hill from the main tourist attractions. However, a good hotel in the peak tourist area would have cost us 100+ euros more each night. So, for us, the walk was well worth it!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mmmmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    995
    244
    20
    5
See reviews for
313
905
131
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

49 euros for the centre of Porto? Really? Well, yes, you can be serious. And I don't feel in the least bit cheated. The rooms weren't particularly big, enough room for a bed, some storage cabinets, and just enough room for a couple to store stuff. But who cares? You're in Porto, you should be out enjoying it.

Location of the hotel is great: very central, about 10 mins from Sao Bento station. Be warned: it's up a big hill (even bigger if you're coming from the waterfront), so if you (or anyone you're with) doesn't like hills, this may be a source of complaint. But no problems when you're there! No great issues with stuff around: plenty of things to see and do within easy reach. You do have to enter the hotel through a concrete shopping centre lobby, but it's not a big deal.

As I've already said, the room was more than adequate and reasonably comfortable. Air conditioning wasn't working properly, but window open soon solved that. Breakfast was a modest selection - nothing great, but for the 6 euros price I wasn't complaining.

In summary, I see nothing wrong with this hotel and will be quite likely to return on a future trip to Porto.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good enough. The hotel is located in the city center, close to all important places in the city. The price is not low, but really competitive to alternatives. We get nice and very clean rooms in good condition. The hotel has a small discount for a 24h parking places and a multilingual crew. The wifi connection works perfect not only in the hotel, but also in some other places in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGT_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We chose the Ibis hotel chain when traveling through Portugal in Lisbon and Oporto. It is safe to say that this is the best choice of budget hotels in Europe. The truth is my husband on the 4th day a little tired of sandwiches and granola for breakfast. We were willing to pay extra for a hot breakfast.The hotel is located in the center of the city, all the attractions within walking distance. Internet access at the reception desk was always available. The hotel also has a grocery store.I think this hotel was a bit better than in Lisbon, we were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel was decent. The room was very clean and in the city center area. We did the hop on hop off tour and the hotel was perfectly located for that tour for us to get around to the other landmarks we wanted to see. The staff was very friendly. We dealt with several different people during our stay and all were so helpful and accomodating. The restaurant was alright. The breakfast didn't include much at all for 6 euros and when I got a late snack (ice cream) the ice cream tasted like it had been in the freezer for a very long time. Not good at all. The outside was a little questionable. They had several people just 'hanging out' outside of the hotel. I felt a little uncomfortable as I was walking in and out at all hours of the day and night. I did see that the front desk had security cameras everywhere which made me feel safer. Overall, I had a pleasant stay and had a terrific time in Porto.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in a few Accor hotels in Europe in the past but mostly Mercure. I saw the high rankings of Porto Ibis Centro at tripadvisor and booked it for two nights. It was the cheapest price we ever paid for a hotel room, A$60 a night, so we didn't have very high expectations.

However, we couldn't have been happier with this hotel. The location was great, close to city centre and all the sights. The room is small but has everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Bathroom and shower are surprisingly large. The bed is very comfortable. The front desk was helpful. What more could one ask!

There is a supermarket downstairs, which is an added bonus. I highly recommend Ibis Porto Centro.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SongbirdMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel rooms are very comfortable with all the basics that you will need for a short City Break.
It is also very secure as no-one without a key can get above the Reception area.
It has a nice little Bar & Cafe/Restaurant with limited Internet access.

We stayed there a few nights and found it great as there is secure overnight parking right next door! But of course you can park in the street overnight for free aswell, which we eventually did - just remember to put some money in the meter in the morning....

Lots of Shops, Cafes & Restaurants nearby, and Rua Santa Catarina is just down the road of course, as well as Bolhao Covered Market!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodieBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
2.5 mi away
Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Porto Centro

Property: Ibis Porto Centro
Address: Rua da Alegria 29 A, Porto 4000-041, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing