We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no door on toilets = romance killer! also average service”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location was very good and the decor was interesting (though if nit picking would say everything is a little too dark). However there is no separate bathroom and no door on the toilet/shower area! We asked for a different room but were told that no rooms had doors on the toilets and that often guests liked that! I'm not sure who wants to watch their partner/friend on the toilet but we certainly did not and found it v weird. The desk staff were ok but not super helpful/friendly and my girlfriend's bag was broken whilst in transit to the room. We complained about this and showed them the damage, they said that something would be sorted but it never was and when we chased up via email still nothing was offered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Teatro Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is situated right in the centre of Porto within walking distance of everything. When you first arrive the front doors are quite heavy and difficult to open but once inside allow you eyes to become accustomed to the darkness! The hotel is very dark which is quite strange but you do get used to it. The staff are very helpful and gave us ideas of what to do and see, providing maps and bus tickets etc. We were not show to our room but had to struggle with our cases but the room was spacious. We had asked for a quiet room with a bath but got a room at the front (its on a busy road) which could be noisy. The shower was over the bath but the design was poor and water went everywhere. Tea and coffee is provided but no milk so we took some at breakfast and kept in our fridge for future use. Breakfasts were good and the food topped up regularly with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, hot and cold, juices etc. Good central location for a short stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Australia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Can be a little daunting on arrive due to Threatre Door style entrance and dim lighting. Rooms are all individual and lovely. Good restaurant and great location right in centre of Porto. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, some have balcony some have bath with shower over and some have shower only...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in the centre of Porto. Great position, 2 mins walk to the main square and only 10 mins down to the river. Very stylish and quirky entrance and the theatre theme works really well. The staff were notably of the highest quality, every one of them that I met. The stay was just let down by a slight lack of attention to detail and the room was a little on the small side, but I wouldn't let that put you off.

Room Tip: If you need to use the wifi as I do for business purposes then make sure you don't get a room at...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarklavLaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a unique hotel. Despite a few negatives written about this place, we could not fault it! The staff were helpful, charming and thoughtful. Thank you so much for the lovely surprise left for our birthdays (mine on 8th and my husbands' the 9th). It made his 'special birthday' that bit more special! This all added to the charm of Porto itself. Definitely central to all locations and perfectly placed to get around to other locations too. Would most certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnookyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The initial impressions of the hotel as you go through the main entrance is a little mysterious due to the lighting and curtains not what you usually expect from a hotel entrance. After check-in and being shown to our room, we chose a Tribune room, our senses were again confronted, this time with a glass walled bathroom. We later discovered that there were curtains, brown of course, to cover your modesty!

You start to tune into the surroundings and realise that the hotel, built on the site of an old theatre, is paying homage to its roots and as you “tune in” to the theme you see more and more theatrical touches.

The restaurant is certainly “fine dining” but the lack of vegetables on the menu meant, for us at least, that it was not somewhere to eat regularly.

A little bit quirky, fascinating, intriguing and fun with all the help you could want from very courteous staff.

Room Tip: Tribune rooms are best deal
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVE1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Located within easy walking distance of all the major attractions and public transport stations, this funky hotel provides lovely service and yummy buffet breakfasts. No spa or swimming pool, but there is a groovy bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $129 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing