We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, pretty good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pretty good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel offers all facilities that you can only imagine.
Ups:
Location: easy to find and get to, near to the station and city centre. Takes one train from the airport to get there without changing trains/platforms. It takes about 10 mins to walk to the river, shopping area, main square, tube ect. The hotel is situated on the busy road but they have got good quality windows so the noise cannot be heard in the room.
Staff: extremely polite and helpful. Never had any problem with anything we asked for. Restaurant service very quick and efficient (both during breakfast and dinner), staff with very good spoken English.
Eating: good selection of food for breakfast including hot and cold meals. Amazing choice of evening meals and pretty good selection of alcohol. We tried to find some other place to eat dinner and it seams that the restaurant in the hotel is one of the best option. One disadvantage: it can be quite expensive. Room service was also available in the room giving variety of options to choose from.
Rooms: spacious, with big showers and walk-in wardrobe. Very clean, equipped with hairdryer, towels (change every day) and toiletries.
Décor: quite unusual, feels a little bit like in the theatre, funky lightening, and pretty dark everywhere (can be annoying as some point)

Downs:
Toilet walls made from glass located next to the shower cabin so not ideal when you want to use it while somebody is taking a shower (unless it doesn’t bother you a lot).
Door to the bathroom replaced by black/see trough curtain - so forget about privacy when using toilet/showering ect.
Dark corridors, almost impossible to see where you go at night but I guess this is what keeps the character of the hotel up and the hotel was decorated this way.
Overall, we had a pleasant and comfortable stay and I would recommend this accommodation for shorter and longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    563
    170
    30
    20
See reviews for
154
901
49
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and we were super very happy with our stay! Check in and Check out was fast and easy. Upon check in we had a welcome drink and when we got in our room bottle of complimentary champagne was waiting for us and if that wasn't enough on our 2nd night when we got in a bottle of red wine and cheese was waiting or us. Bed and pillow was very comfy! Bathroom was big enough and clean. Staff were great! Great location, 5 mins walk to Sao Bento station, 10-15mins walk to clergios tower 20-30 mins walk to praca Ribera. Restaurants nearby! Breakfast was good but would be better if they could change every few days...all in all I would recommend this hotel to my friends and if we do come back to porto we will definitely come back to this hotel!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is "theatre"- themed, which it achieves superbly. It just that it is not too practical for business purposes, although it for sure has a nice atmosphere. We were there on mixed business/leisure. Quality is very good, the restaurant albeit expensive for local custom, is really good. And the location is excellent. An absolute great spot for a 2 or 3 day citytrip, for business less handy. One weird thing: the glass door of the toilet. I love my wife very much but I do not need to see her *********, if yoy know what I mean

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cees K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed two nights at Teatro in July, and we got exactly what we needed and paid for. Yes, the hotel style is almost forced "dark and cool", but it does work and give a unique feeling and experience that functions almost as an "oasis" in the city. The location is great, with just a few blocks of walking to the bridge over the Douro with its fantastic views. The hotel restaurant is excellent (do try the guava fondant dessert...). Only complaint would be the wifi, which was a bit sketchy with very low bandwidth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanerics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arrived here from Barcelona and was very happy with the location of the hotel. It was central and easy to find. The hotel is theatre themed with dramatic lighting and costumes in the lobby. Cool idea but the only problem I had was the musty odor in the lobby. Not sure if it was the costumes or the sofas in the bar area but it smelled like my grandmothers attic. BUT besides that the hotel was great. Rooms were well designed, with separate toilet and shower areas and the beds were extremely comfortable. They also provided each of us with a complimentary glass of Porto..nice touch!!

Breakfast was included here and it was pretty good...lots of choices of fruits, meats,cheeses, breads and there was coffee and tea and juices.

Staff were very helpful. They all spoke english and were able to provide us with good information whenever needed.

All in all, great hotel and I would definitely recommend this to all my friends...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealguys4651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel has a great, central location and is ideal for seeing the sights of Porto. As others have commented, they've really committed themselves to the theatrical theme. In a couple of instances, namely our transparent toilet door, practicality should probably have won out over design - but the overall effect is quite charming.

We're currently six days into an eight day stay, and have found everything to be most agreeable. The staff are friendly, the facilities are good and the breakfast is marvellous. There's even champagne on offer, though I've only risked one glass so far. The restaurant and bar are very good indeed, and reasonable value compared to our native London (then again, what isn't). We're on a late honeymoon, and were treated to champagne on our arrival, and a lovely bottle of red wine on the third day. One thing's for sure, we've not wanted for a good drink!

We've had a lovely stay, and would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in a bit of quirky quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved the hotel funky interior. Rooms were comfortable and excellent value. Bed was large (rare in portugal), fast free wifi. Bar and restaurant are cool, nice breakfast. Young trendy crowd and staff which was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing