We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHEER THEATRE”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is a bold unapologetic and uncompromising design statement. I admire the designer and owners for doing this. The styling cannot be faulted. uniforms, interiors etc.
Staff were very polite and very helpful. I like the uniforms the girls wore.A memorable player on the global stage.
My criticism is that i could not see properly in my room as the lighting is poorly designed in my opinion. i found the wash basin area very restricting with very little space for its functions. As a business traveller, the desk/ desk chair was the worst i have had to use.
The designer has placed form over function.
The name of this hotel is very apt. Everything is set to a very dramatic and stylish level, not always to the benefit of the guest.

Room Tip: i had a third floor corner room to the front, overlooking the oldest brasserie in Porto. The room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2511David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

very nice and special decoration, large and modern rooms, excellent restaurant, very nice and friendly people, perfect location for visiting the old town. First evening in the hotel restaurant we got a special 7 courses dinner, accompagnied by different portuguese wines. Excellent kitchen and wines. A place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgebucharest213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great hotel very very good tapas , quirky rooms great showers after a days walking a good base to explore Porto good reasturants close by we had a great welcome on our checkin and all staff helpful peope say its dark inside I think it all adds to the atmosphere all in all great hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We admired the fact that whoever designed and owns this hotel, they had the nerve to go 100% with the idea and make something different. Modelled on a movie theatre, the interior is different shades of brown; the room numbers are like lights on a theatre seat and the corridor lights look like ones from a film set; the carpet has a film strip woven into it and even the seats in reception - from above - look like the middle of a film reel. Our room was large and comfy with a huge free standing bath in an alcove and a brilliant walk in shower. Just as impressive was the restaurant - we tried a tasting menu with twinned wines and the food and drink was out of this world. Breakfast was good too and I couldn't resist a glass of fizz. Location is good for all the touristy things you might want to see and the staff were brilliant. If they gave out Oscars for hotels, this should win one.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just back from a lovely trip to Porto and this hotel and it's staff and restaurant was outstanding. Large room with a big walk in shower which was great. Excellent bar area with some good music. The restaurant is pleasant to dine in and the food is great. The staff are the big stand out for me however. All of them were exceptionally friendly, helpful and had lots of time for us. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful with proper orange juice which was a big bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a great place to stay in a wonderful city.

Thanks Teatro :-)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Ric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Teatro Hotel in Porto was a real favourite for us in Portugal. Not only is it very central and an easy location to base yourself from, but the service we received from all of the staff was exceptional. Oscar and Amikar were stand outs.
The rooms are tastefully appointed, the beds incredibly comfortable and lovely bathrooms with a great shower (and no bath - yay!). Breakfast is really good value and has a good selection.
Only downside is it is very dark, but this goes with the theatre theme
I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliegirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Teatro Hotel is one of the best we have stayed in it is stylish very clean and the sevice was very good.
We stayed in 308 which has an amazing huge bed and bath that is open to the room, the design and colurs are really well done and the combnation of the browns and coppers really works well, yes some might say it is a bit dark but thats the style of the Hotel.

And the best air conditioning we have ever had it is fantastic after a long day sightseeing to return to such a cool room with no noise or draft from the air con.

The staff were very friendly and provided us with all the info we could have needed ( get the yellow bus for the site seeing tours e12.00 for two days available from the hotel recption ) The bar and resurant staff were freindly and quick.
Breakfast was superb with free champagne !!! and we ate from the bar one night a sort of tapas selection which was superb and beautfly served.

And the best thing about Porto is it is really inexpensive e3.00 for two coffees and bottle of water !!!
Do The boat trips 5 bridges for e10.00 the Sandeman port tour e4.00 the cable car 4.00 euros go to the portocruz wine lodge next to Sandman and go to the new roof terrace fantastic views and 3 euros for a glass of chilled tawny port !!!! amazing.

we also went to the beach on the yellow bus which was a lovely safe area and with some very stylish bars and cafes and clean water.

The hotel is inbetween too Metro stations an the service from the airport is every half hour and takes about 25 mins get off at Trinadad and walk down to the Teatro Hotel, it is a bit hilly so plan your route well and it gets really hot !!!

I would recomend this hotel it was fantastic would defnately return

Room Tip: choose 308 no noise and very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesatcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $136 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing