We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$183
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$162
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$302
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$280
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$273
$207
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$448
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,775)
Filter reviews
1,775 results
Traveler rating
817
692
199
38
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
692
199
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheatrical themesmoked glassdesign hotellow lightingglass doorthemed hoteltasting menucentral locationrain showercomplimentary glass of portthe riversparkling winejunior suitereception staffwelcome drinkbreakfast was excellentsao bento train station
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,775 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel with an interesting theater theme that is carried throughout: decor, uniforms, costumes in the entrance, ... Great location right in the centre so you can walk everywhere - we also used the parking which at 10 euros per day was very affordable and convenient. Breakfast was plentiful but restaurant is small so we did have to wait to be seated. Staff could also be more knowledgeable about surroundings - they sent us to a historic yet closed coffee shop...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTeatro, Director General at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

"Obrigada" for your kind comments and recent stay at Hotel Teatro!

It was good to know the Hotel's location has been perfect for your stay in Oporto! As you wrote, we are at walking distance from the most important points of interest and from the historic center.

We would like to apologize for you having to wait a while to be seated but also thank you for your comprehension.

Hope welcome you again in Oporto and next time we will be more carefull about the places to be recommended, for sure!

Best wishes,

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel with suggestive design, atmosphere with theatrical landscaping (clothes scene and images) and nice soft lighting. Room very cozy and equipped with comfortable, open bathroom with glass. Free wifi for guests. Great location next to Praca da Liberdade and S.Bento station, ideal for exploring on foot Porto. International breakfast of very good level with Portuguese specialties.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkjadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTeatro, Director General at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hotel Teatro and its concept!

As you explain, we're very well located, just in city center. Its good to know you have had the opportunity to walk around and see the best of the city!

I, and all the staff, look forward to see you again at Oporto!

Kind regards,

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Hotel Teatro is very conveniently located around the corner from the São Bento train station. The hotel is superb! The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a lovely view. The decor of the rooms is very nice. Some have complained that it appears 'scuffed,' but it's meant to look like that! The breakfast was really nice, the mimosas in the morning were particularly wonderful, and the staff very courteous. The receptionists are amazing, taking the time to explain the local area, and helping with everything. If you're staying for more than 3 nights, the in-room wifi code will run out at 3 days, so just nip down to Reception and ask for a new code. The bar staff were really great, and helped us out with choosing a good wine and a few bar snacks. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but given the quality of the breakfasts I assume the dinner must be equally as great. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Teatro, and when we return to Porto we'll definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarkpawUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTeatro, Director General at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your kind review! Such a good comment makes us feel very proud of our daily work!

It's good to know you're planning visit Porto, again. We would be very happy to welcome you again! And next time, you really have to dine with us at Restaurante Palco, I'm pretty sure you'll love it!!!

Kind regards,

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very good location, perfect welcome from the team, the bedroom are super comfortable so I really recommend this hotel. The garden for breakfast is a treasure, the view from the bedroom is the only thing that is not wonderful but I guess, can't be different.

Room Tip: ask for a superior room (they are huge) and, if possible at least at the 5th floor for having a correct view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTeatro, Director General at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Hotel Teatro!

I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed our service and the all concept!

We really expect to see you again at Oporto!

Kind regards,

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Really cool boutique hotel located right in the centre of Porto, close to everything. Unfortunately everything was closed on Sunday but staff directed us to everything we needed. Located adjacent to the hotel is a "theater" I would definitely recommend looking into what events are being held during the time of your stay. We had little sleep with the all night thumping of music until 7am. The rooms were very modern and comfortable although the glass enclosed toilets and shower left little privacy, especially when you have a family suite which seemed that both keys accessed both rooms. The lounge was perfect and had a really cool vibe. The breakfast buffet was alright. I would definitely recommend heading to the Caves for a tour, Port tasting and if you're lucky enough traditional Fado music.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time writing this review and for your kind comments!

Hope you've had a great time in Oporto and we hope welcome you again at Hotel Teatro! Next time you cannot miss all the other things that the city has to offer.

Kind regards,

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews