We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$127
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$140
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$242
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $377/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$299
$266
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$200
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,773)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveler rating
817
692
198
38
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
692
198
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheatrical themesmoked glassdesign hotellow lightingglass doorthemed hoteltasting menucentral locationrain showercomplimentary glass of portthe riversparkling winejunior suitereception staffwelcome drinkbreakfast was excellentsao bento train station
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Very nicely decorated hotel in the center of Porto. New design hotel with reasonable sized rooms, excellent service and very good breakfast. Fresh fruit, good juices and nice variety of bread. The Madeira born decorater Isabel "nini" Andrade Silva made an excellent job in the decoration, choosing dark, but warm colors like brwn and gold. A bit dark, but you get used to it quickly. Service was 5 stars, specially the cleaning of the room and the guys that take care of the cars. Perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

A nice, very reasonable-priced hotel. Technically one street away from the Old Quarter of Porto (Ribeira). It was approx. a 15 minute walk to the waterfront. The front staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was spacious, modern, very quiet and comfortable. The shower was huge, with constant hot water and nicely designed. As with other reviews, the open-concept toilet can make things awkward. The simple addition of a curtain would probably ease any discomfort and allow people to choose their level of “openness”.

Breakfasts were good and generous, buffet-style. The waiters also brought any espressos or cappuccinos free of charge. The free port at check-in was also a nice touch.

Parking at the hotel cost 10 Euros per day.

The hotel offered free wi-fi.

For the price and value, I would stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Kim_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I had been here some time back for a meeting and quick tour of the rooms. But nothing compares with checking in and staying for a few nights, in terms of judging a hotel. My overall first lasting impression was that it was a bit dark. True but having stayed for 2 nights I can wholeheartedly recommend Teatro. First, a great location if you are to explore the old city. Secondly, although I had a small room facing the street, I could hardly hear a sound from the outside. Thirdly, one will have to appreciate all the designer stuff, from the plastic chair to the enormous shower head, to really like Teatro as this is not you average standard type hotel. They have gone to great lenghts here to the Teater theme, in a designer way I liked the unsual carpet, the retro feel, the small but quality bathroom area, the free internet, qualiy toiletries, very comfy bed, duvet and pillow and linen and the overall quiet feel. The first breakfast had a queue of approx 10 minutes, which never happens in my travels. But the breakfast was above average although perhaps a bit spartan in selection. I had one dinner there and would rate it above average, not stellar. But would easily go there again just to have a meal. liked the overall look and fell of the restaurant too. The staff was overall very friendly and helpful. I think it was good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a really unique hotel in a perfect location, just off of the Santa Catarina shopping area, and within several minutes' walk of the Bolhao market area, the Douro riverfront, and many other attractions. The rooms are plush--one of the greatest showers I've ever seen, with a huge showerhead and floor to ceiling glass--but the entire hotel is very dark. Breakfasts are good but the buffet is not as extensive as I have seen in other Portuguese hotels of a similar caliber. The bar area is great--lots of seating areas, with very original, modern design. However, it can be hard to get the notice of the bartender. Terrific desk and lobby staff--they really went the extra mile when I needed some help with my work logistics.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

When looking a design/modern hotel I very quickly found the Hotel Teatro. You benefit from very good discounts for early bird bookings. I appreciate that rooms are a bit dark but this is what makes the hotel special and original (+ if you looked at the website prior to the booking you cannot miss it). The location is great in the city centre not far from the tour bus and the subway which takes you directly to the airport for 2 euros I think! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I could change room easily as I did not like the first one. I requested a quiet room and it was very quiet though the hotel is right in the city. For any directions I needed the reception staff could help me. Last but not least one of the reason I choose this hotel was their "highly spoken" restaurant and their cooking classes! As I was the only one I normally couldn't take a cooking class but all the staff made sure I could enjoy this moment and made it for me -- private -- This was just great ! Difficult to describe this experience in a few words. Just take the class if you like cooking (it is only 2 hours ..although most of tourists only spend a couple of days in Porto). Once again, the staff makes the hotel. The breakfast is good and well served. The rooms are very cleaned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1st_kensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews