We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Porto”

Pedro Lemos Restaurante
Ranked #64 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $67
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: “Pedro Lemos” is one of Oporto’s most renowned restaurants.The chef ’s originality stands in a pleasantlysurprising contrast to the typical Portuguese flavors,so as to present the clients with unique and unforgettableculinary experiences, turning each meal into an“urban safari”. Located in Foz, one of Oporto’s mostbeautiful and emblematic historical neighborhoods, therestaurant’s venue is a building deemed of architecturalsignificance. It was first inaugurated in 1964 as a Britishinspiredpub that became a place of choice of that time’selites. At Pedro Lemos you can explore different spacesand ambiances, always exquisite and comfortable. The specialty of the restaurant are the seasonal tasting menus.The wine selection is carefully sourced, the service is impeccable.
East Flanders Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best of Porto”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Europeen Style , small portions, slow but good service, exept aperotime....I guess this is best resto of Porto

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IceCakeDeLuXe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    93
    28
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but why so little?”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The food was astounding, but the portions were really small (and I'm not a big eater), stretching the "nouvelle cuisine" experience a little too much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Flawless, imaginative and superb from start to finish”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had the 6 course menu on Valentines Day and it was delicious. Each course had loads of flavour -small broths that were rich but not overly so, sauces that were deep in flavour and silky smooth, prime ingredients, amuse bouche that had loads going on... I was going to recommend the alentejo pork but it is all excellent. The egg dish is a 'must'. Go chocolate for dessert and the fruit-vegetables dessert (amazing - just eat the meringue like disc that broke with a flavourful gel/liquid whole!)

Definitely choose the wine pairings - we had a superb vintage Douro Red, superb port, and dessert wine

I telephoned and emailed to see if we could have some champagne and something for valentines day and we did.

Then we met Mr Lemos as we left and chatted and he was really nice, and down to earth. He seemed genuinely interested that we'd had a great time.

Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DCC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Feels like feeding yourself with perfection”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Simply, the best meal I have ever had:)
Now oppened for lunch with a beautiful menu of 20€(except drinks), me and my girlfriend went on and it was perfection in 5 plates, I will just mention roughly what we had so that you get the point, this is the best restaurant in Porto. Amouse bouche of pork and mushroom, starters of scallop and the other of egg, mains of suckling pig and veal(melts in the mouth), pre-dessert of Madeira wine kind of jelly, lavender foam and almond crust, dessert consisting on a magnificent creme brulee with passion fruit sorbet, all this perfectly paired with a Confradeiro 2012 White wine, Alves de Sousa Reserva Pessoal White wine 2005(AMAZING), Quinta das Carvalhas Touriga Nacional 1995(uau!) and Niepoort Moscatel 2000. You can count on the Chef Pedro Lemos to let you amazed with traditional flavours and with the great service of Sommelier Pedro Ferreira, let yourself be guided and you will enjoy a magnificent meal, there are special moments in life, enjoy:)

Helpful?
1 Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic, but not quite michelin star level yet”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My fiance and I visited Pedro Lemos restaurant during our stay in Porto recently. Having seen some fantastic reviews, we were really looking forward to our meal!

We were greeted when we walked in, our coats taken and shown to our seats. It was fairly early on a Saturday night, so we were the second set of diners in the restaurant.

The menu was really great and we both went for the 3 course menu. I opted for foie gras, Iberian pork and a chocolate dessert. We opted for a glass of champagne each before a bottle of wine between us. The service was exceptional and really did have the feel of a restaurant striving for its first michelin star.

Before our first course, we were treated to a pork amuse bouche which was delicious. Both our starters were stunning and the evening was going really well, it continued to be exceptional for some time. When it did start to get busy, we ended up pouring our own wine, which wasn't a problem per se.

The restaurant began to get busier as the evening went on, and by the time we had finished our desserts, the place was completely full. The only issue we had with the evening was when we wanted to leave; we asked for the bill and waited around 15 minutes, we were out of drinks at this point also. My fiance then went downstairs and requested the bill again, to no avail. Eventually we went to leave the restaurant and the waiter was just printing the bill out.

None of the above would be a problem, but for a restaurant which is expecting a michelin star, I would have expected the evening to have been without a glitch.

Despite this, I really do recommend this restaurant- the food was exceptional and the service is too (maybe just not enough waiters at busy times).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophevans311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedro Lemos Restaurante also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Pedro Lemos Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing