We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and good service”

Restaurante Capa Negra II
Ranked #182 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vila do Conde, Portugal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice food and good service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Francesinha is good but I'm not sure it's the best in Porto.
Service is good and the food is very tasty. Check the dishes of the day since they are always a good option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina_Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    540
    217
    60
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
678 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“maybe the most famous restaurante in Porto to try "francesinha"”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

when you are talking about "francesinhas" (Porto´s traditional dish), this is will be one of the spoken options. There´s also other options, meat or seafood, but Francesinha is what make this restaurant well known, and there´s a few option of Francesinha with different ingredients/versions.

To me, be famous doens´t mean be the best, but for sure you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Portuguese with a cap P”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Sitting at the bar was a wise choice and we did it three times in six days! First visit the barman got over a waiter who spoke English who took us through the menu of the day (there's also another very long menu with all the staples). He chose and also advised on portion size - eg, that' s huge so have one portion between two (many of the dishes of the day are listed with two prices, single portion, double portion). The fish dishes were good but a pork choice one night was not so interesting (and far too big) and boiled potatoes seemed to appear too regularly. We never tried the francesinhas as they looked horribly heavy and, according to a Portuguese we got talking to, it was! Mind you, he loved it and visiting from Lisbon on business had come here specifically to have it. The salt cod (bacalhau) was another thing altogether. It was wonderful and we so wished we'd been brave earlier in our visit as this was our last night. We had the Lisboa variety (rather like a creamy risotto and absolutely delicious) but the barman said the next night's variety was much better. So we'll just have to go back. The restaurant was packed at the weekend with a totally Portuguese clientele and families with toddlers in pushchairs coming in at 10pm. During the week it was not nearly so busy and eating at 7.30 was never a problem. This restaurant is definitely your best bet when staying at the Fenix - easy walking distance and no silly tourist prices. Total bill for each visit was only ever 30-something euros for two including embarrassing amounts of white wine, again selected by the waiter. Conclusion: good food at crazily good prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popsical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bustling place with very fast service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our very first Portuguese meal, within sight of our room at the Ipanema Porto, so top of the list for a dinner on arrival. It is a restaurant but it has a definite bustling café feel to it, as in "eat up and go". We appreciated the fast but not rushed service - our waiter seemed to have eyes everywhere and was helpful in explaining the menu.

The caldo verde was nice, though we had better later in our stay. The francesinhas we found terribly disappointing. I suppose they were good, seeing this restaurant's reputation, but the sauce might well have been a spice-mix and water preparation (apologies to the restaurant if it wasn't), the thin steak was drastically over-cooked and tough and the sausages didn't taste very nice. The fried egg on top was nice, though! When it came to dessert, I was sad to see no fresh fruit on the list, when I could see a display cabinet full of melons, pineapples, grapes, strawberries... But no problem - the restaurant was happy to provide a very nice fruit salad. Thanks for that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service, large portions, traditional food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very convenient for the HF Fenix Porto Hotel where we stayed. Menu is quite limited but the food is good, wholesome, and in large helpings! Very helpful staff...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ifenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Capa Negra II also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Capa Negra II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing