We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel for a very nice price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Riad Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Riad Guest House
Ranked #108 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Maarsbergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hostel for a very nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Porto Riad is a 'designer' hostel/hotel/B&B, with a Moroccan twist. It is situated just outside the city center, though fairly easy to reach by subway (get off at Trinidade station - then a 10 minute walk uphill). The hostel consists of a pre war house and a smallish garden. It is decorated with Moroccan furniture, carpets and nicknacks, giving it an oriental look. The room I was in (single room/shared bathroom) was rather small, but it had everything you could possibly want. The bathroom was just across the hall and I seemed to be the only one using it. The bed, however, was a dud: it creaked and rattled with every move and the mattress was to threadbare that the metal springs left marks on my back (not really, just adding to the drama....).
The breakfast was served from 08:00 onwards and was quite nice: fresh rolls, REALLY good coffee (!!) and tea and cheese/ham/marmalade.
Overall I'd say this hostel is definitely worth the €, but a change of beds/mattresses would not hurt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanoded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    26
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
41
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is just perfect; rooms are clean and quiet, staff is very nice, breakfast is great (followed by the relaxing music)! The position of the hostel is very convenient. Hostel is also very well and furnished. So unique. And all that for a reasonable price. My husband and I were there for 4 days and we enjoyed staying in this magical place. We would definitely come back here the next time we're in Porto!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This Guest House is the right place for those who want travel in cheap but comfortable way. The position is very good, the staff is friendly and the style of the furnitures is very original. Breakfast was rich.
If i went in Porto again I would be back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina_travel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have stayed at this wonderfull Guesthouse twice now, it's been perfect every time. It's cheap, the breakfast is great, the patrons extremely helpfull and nice. You can use the kitchen to make your own snacks or order in roomservice. Everything is possible. It's pretty close to the centre and there is enough to see in the neighbourhood.

I love it there. Hopefully we'll be back in spring.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

the title says it all!!!

after reading the reviews on this guest house, i thought i would give it a go.

i haven't been disappointed from the moment i have checked in until i checked-out...

the rooms are nice, i mean it is not a 5 star hotel but for what you pay and for the location it is, believe me, uncredibly cheap.

the staff is so nice and so relax

the hotel has this arabic style into it, i thin the wife is of the owner is from marocco.
it has a great feel, it will make you feel very relax...

everything is clean.

they have wifi too...


i can't praise enough this place it is great!!!

Room Tip: don't book online, call them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mistery98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We wanted to stay at the Riad when we saw it on the net; but it was fully booked. In the end we lucked out and got 3 days lastminute. The garden is lovely, the decor fabulous and it has a great relaxed atmosphere. The breakfasts were simple and tasty and the honey and butter were served in mini tagines. Every little detail was lovely; highly recommend for couples and a group of friends. Wifi and a computer you can borrow. Good homemade kebabs. Have the basement rooms if you want a multi gym, but upstairs for more romantic rooms. Its an oasis in the city :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Sure, it's no 5-star hotel, but this stay was memorable! We had this regular sized room, but it had its own hallway and a huge bathroom. We traveled with our cat (the fact that they accept pets is definitely a plus) and he had all the room he needed). I loved the decor (Arabian style) and the backyard. On the downside, the bathroom was cold, the shower took a bit of time and technique to master, no elevator and the breakfast could benefit from a fruit selection (but still... it was great to have breakfast in the backyard, with the occasional cat popping up for a visit!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielaMarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oporto City Hostel
Oporto City Hostel
#29 of 207 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Downtown Hostel
Porto Downtown Hostel
#105 of 207 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
O2 Hostel
O2 Hostel
#66 of 207 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wine Hostel
Wine Hostel
#7 of 207 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Riad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Riad Guest House

Property: Porto Riad Guest House
Address: Rua Dom Joao IV no 990, Porto 4000-300, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Riad Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Porto’s city centre, just a few meters from the World Heritage Site by UNESCO, Porto Riad Guest House offers its clients an unforgettable and unique experience. Porto Riad is an enchanting and traditional house from the 40s totally renovated in 2009 under the theme of the Orient. Its mission is to provide clients an exotic and inspiring atmosphere. We invite you to share relaxed moments with an aromatic mint tea or a port. "Feel the magic of a Riad and discover the fascinating history of Porto." We are surrounded by the main touristic attractions and historical monuments of Porto, and we emphasize "Bolhao," the market, the Town Hall, Clerigos Church, the stock market and the historical area of Ribeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Riad Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing