We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,238)
Filter reviews
2,238 results
Traveler rating
1,617
434
115
44
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,617
434
115
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace douro river infinity pool flour mill beautiful palace factory building hotel shuttle shuttle service main building free shuttle public rooms walk along the river guest rooms porto centre taxi ride amazing hotel five star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,238 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We couldn't have been happier with our experience - until it was time to leave. First the good stuff. The hotel itself is an incredibly beautiful restored palace, with the rooms in an adjoining building. They were comfortable and quiet, and the hotel was blessed with an incredible river view. The concierge was incredibly helpful with restaurant and touring suggestions. The pool was magnificent. We enjoyed a lovely walk from the center of Porto back to the hotel along the river....So far a 5-star place. But now the issue. I have a bad back and so can't carry heavy bags. We called for a bellman to come get our bags from our room. We needed to get out fairly quickly to get to our next destination on time. The front desk said it would be 5 minutes. No problem. No one showed up. We called back. Same message. This continued for 30 minutes. Never any response but "5 minutes" or "I'm calling the bellman now." Finally we dragged our bags down to the front, got our car, and needed help only to lift the bags into the trunk. Finally a bellman showed up. "Why couldn't you come earlier?" "We were in a meeting." There is no excuse for this, whether the reason given was true or not.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LexTraveler01,
Thank you very much for your useful feedback.
We are sincerely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, our management was already informed and we will act accordingly to prevent this from repeating.
Once again, we thank you for your comments and to give us the opportunity to improve our services.
Warm regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just great. There is a shuttle to the center of the city , though not enough during the day. Make sure you register upon arrival for the shuttle, not many seats.Recommendation for the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Daffy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Daffy23,
Thank you very much for your comments; it was a great pleasure to welcome you at our beautiful Palace.
We wish you a great day and until next time!
Warmest regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The cleanliness of the rooms need to be improved. Restaurant and spa staff were very good, but food for dinner was not up to par. Location was slightly out of the city which is nice for relaxing, but takes time to get into the city.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Darryl L,
Thank you very much for your feedback and to give us the opportunity to improve.
We are sorry if our restaurant did not meet your expectations, your comments were already forwarded to our management and we are sincerely grateful for bringing those to our attention.
We hope we can receive your visit again in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

The hotel is well located. 5 minutes drive outside Porto. With A Nice swimming pool outside and inside. The people are great and helpful. Breakfast is great. Call A couple of days in Advance and they van help select Some great restaurants.Rooms are spacious but lighting is not that good and water only comes in One small free bottle A day.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank feyovanheemstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear feyovanheemstra,
Thank you very much for your comments; it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Palácio do Freixo.
We are looking forward to see you again!
Warmest regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This gorgeous property about 10 minutes from the centre of town is very special. The staff were friendly and helpful and the property itself is magical. Great grounds, beautiful pool and decking overlooking the Douro. The only issue was related to housekeeping. Our room was missing things, like coffee pods and water. It showed a bit of wear and was cleaned differently each day. Our friend's room next door had different lighting and a 50+ inch TV whereas we had a small 30" or so. Did not spoil the trip, but should not be the case with supposedly identical rooms and at this price point. Need to fix up your act a bit. Breakfast was varied and tasty and great. Never used the shuttle into town, but an Uber was about 4 Euros. Not a big deal. Beware if you are driving there as we did, Googlemaps takes you to the back of the property which has not access. The hotel is aware and has been working with Google to fix. Parking is free, and we did not touch our car for the 3 days that we were there.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank occmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear occmed,
Thank you very much for your feedback and to give us the opportunity to improve our services.
We would like to apologize for the inconsistencies you encountered during your stay, we shared your comments with our management team and they will analyze and act accordingly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We wish a great day, and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Warmest regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews