We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Almost Faultless”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Set on the banks of the Duoro River at the edge of the fascinating city of Porto the Freixo Palace is that - a palace. The public rooms are in the restored palace, the bedrooms are in an equally interesting old mill conversion next door. The palace has been sensitively brought back to life with ceiling paintings, gilded mouldings and decorative wooden flooring, but where things were lost beyond recovery they have not been recreated so you do feel that you are in the original building and not some facsimile.
Bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Ours, on the river side, had wonderful views. The staff could not have been more helpful. Reception were charming and informative, nothing seemed too much trouble. The restaurant was excellent with a table d' hote and a la carte. As we were on half board we should have been restricted to the table d' hote but on the second night they were happy to extend our choices. Dessert came from a large array of goodies in the centre of the dining room to which you helped yourself. Breakfast was also a buffet and of similar variety and quality. There is a riverside terrace which has pleasant gardens, a swimming pool and bar. Between the terrace and the hotel is a public track but this is below the level of the terrace and does not detract from the privacy of the guest rather it helps anchor the hotel into its surroundings. During our stay the shelter from the sum provided a place for elderly men to play cards. As the hotel lies on the south east edge of Porto they do provide a free shuttle into town. As traffic and parking in the city is a nightmare it is worth taking.
Normally in these kind of reviews there is a BUT - not this time. This is an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the river side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    342
    82
    36
    14
See reviews for
352
971
16
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights. the staff were really helpful and serviceminded! They recomended lovely restaurants and wineries for tasting Portwine.
The atmosphere was fantastic! Lovely spa with really good massage and sauna.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have just returned from our company away weekend staying at the hotel. The team at the Freixo Palace exceeded our expectations at every turn. From our initial smooth check in complete with welcoming cocktails to the our departure two days later. Wonderful accommodation in a great setting. Loved our free time around the pool. The wonderful setting was only surpassed by the level of customer service we received from all of the team. Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very spacious with high ceilings. We viewed all the rooms on our inspection tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Rooms for this hotel are located next door to old palace-that is the lobby and restaurant. Buildings are fantastic-treat just to walk around. Beautiful pool and bar area next to river. We were on a Vantage tour, so do not know if this is a good value. Location is away from Porto-but Taxi's are very inexpensive. Breakfast was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of river or corner room, with 2 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very nice Pousada. Bit far from the city centre of Porto (also noise from freeway), but nice views. The staff is very helpfull. Nice breakfast. Very good spa facilities. Spacy outside and inside. Characteristic 18th century palace!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robwessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Palacio de Freixo is situated just on the ourskirts of the city of Porto but well within stiking distance of the city centre and all of its many attractions. Leave your car behind at the Palacio, the concierge desk will summon a taxi for you. In the day time it is just a 5 Euro ride away, in the evening a liitle more costly at 7 Euro. The Palacio de Frexio is set in very nicely maintained grounds that back on to the Douro River. Our room as per our choice was a basic standard room that looked out onto the Douro, more than ample in size really comfortable king size bed and fresh crisp luxurious bed linen. The bathroom was etxremely spacious beautifully tiled and like the bedroom spotlessly clean, it was peaceful both in outlook and noise free. The bedrooms were in an annexed building next to the Palacio itself and could be accessed if wished via either connecting corridors and lifts or from the outside, all corridors and walkways nicely appointed to blend with the atmosphere of the whole. The staff in all quarters we extremely helpful and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The dining room, bars restuarant, reception and lounge rooms all being situated in the main Palacio itself. The whole ambience of the Palacio was wonderful, the decor is very tastefully done, the spacing of seats and sofas in the lounges and bars excellent, really comfortable, the whole atmosphere so relaxing, we could have sat there for hours on end. The restuarants where breakfast and dinner are served are equally well appointed, the range of food at breakfast is extensive and great quality you feel so spoilt for choice that you feel as though you want to try everything, and I believe they would let you. We dined in one evening during our visit and were not disappointed, excellent meal and not over priced when you consider the luxury of the Palacio. How do we rate the Palacio de Frexio? Do we really need to say any more?
We visited Porto in October 2013, the weather could have been a little kinder to us, but the city which is quite old and looks as though it could use some more Tlc was absolutely full of character and there is so much to do and take in, there has to be appeal for most if not all visitors, I am sure someone will find fault. I feel as though I could write a book on it we enjoyed the whole visit so much.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the Douro River would have to be my choice I would guess, private, quiet and peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in mid April 2014 when enroute to Santander to catch a ferry back to the UK.
The weather wasn't great but the hotel more than made up for that .
The service was excellent
The room was very good ( get a river view room )
The food was also good.
Especially the breakfast which was the best of any Pousada I have ever stayed in.
You can of course eat more cheaply at the small restaurants in town but hey why not spoil yourself now and again .
The overall ambiance of the hotel was relaxing and comfortable .
The hotel is a short taxi drive from downtown Porto ( about €6 ).
Certainly if driving just leave the car in the hotel car park ( its free) and get a taxi as the Porto traffic gets very congested.
( tip : write down the name of the hotel to show the taxi driver )

The hotel rooms are located just next to the actual Palace building in a beautifully refurbished
building. Its the pink one shown on the web.
The surrounding area used to be industrial but has been partially refurbished with a small marina, museum and restaurants.
As for Porto itself I would recommend a stroll along the river bank stopping off at the various port wine cellars for a glass or two of port . Our favourite was the Ramos Pinto cellars .

Room Tip: The best views are from the riverside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loganjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing