We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular but agents get blamed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Spectacular but agents get blamed”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Our visit was wonderful; the comfort and accommodations were immaculate and the restoration of this palace phenomenal. I was disappointed upon registration when the room we paid for in advance w our travel agent did not gVe the river view. Rather than apologizing And offering an adjustment the receptionist told us our travel agent was wrong. This was not the case. Our paid for room was given to a corp group that registered before us. We were moved to the river view the next day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    339
    79
    35
    15
See reviews for
351
951
16
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a fabulous room overlooking the river Duoro, with a private patio. I really cannot find one fault with this amazing hotel. The staff go out of their way to make you feel extra special.
We really appreciated the welcome drink of white port and freshly baked cakes.

I feel I must point out that the 'grain silo' disliked by a previous reviewer, is in fact one of many protected chimneys in Portugal left to encourage the nesting of storks. I really don't have an issue with this, given the beauty and rarity of the birds.

The hotel is a little way out of town, but cabs are plentiful and the walk is pretty interesting.

Keep it up guys!

Room Tip: Recommend 118!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroMig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon.
Best regards
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My family and I traveled to Portugal for 16 days therefore staying in various hotels throughout the country. Pousada do Porto - Palacio do Freixo was one of the most memorable hotels to us not only for its great location but also because of the great service they provide to their customers. It is located 5 minute cab drive from Porto arriving rapidly once called by the hotel which is great if you are doing a car trip like us because you can just park the car and enjoy Porto by foot. Most importantly, the hotels is just outside of the city giving you easy access in an out if you are taking road trips to Douro Valley and other towns around the area. The service was great as well; if you need anything they make sure to bring it to you wherever in the hotel you are located. Therefore, if you are going to Porto with a car to drive outside of town, this is a very accessible hotel with great service and situated in a beautiful location facing the Douro River.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobgGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the end of September. It was generally very nice, if expensive. But, we kept on noticing things that were curiously lacking in such a classy hotel. First, it's quite a distance from the center of the tourist district. We knew that going in, but they didn't seem to make much effort to help guests deal with that distance...beyond being willing to call a cab. The staff were generally ignorant of the public transportation system, and repeatedly gave wrong or vague answers to questions about buses or other transport options. "Surely, a nice place like this has a shuttle," you might say. They actually do, but it only makes one trip each way per day. To town at 9:30 in the morning and back at 16:30 (which is barely past lunch time in Porto.) What's with that? Then there was the 2-twin-beds-pushed-together thing mentioned by a previous reviewer. Our room was advertised as having a double bed. To them, that means two twins, made up separately, and pushed together. Then there is the giant grain silo between the hotel and the river, which blocks or limits the view from many windows. They did a complete reconstruction of this site (which contained the old mansion plus a cereal factory), but they left the grain silo, which dominates the waterfront. Huh? Finally, there is the long circuitous journey from the lobby/restaurant area to the rooms. The rooms are not in the main mansion, but in a more pedestrian building next door. We knew that. Fine. But, in order to get to the rooms, you have to take an elevator ride to the lower level, a walk through the length of the mansion, another walk outside to the building with the rooms (at least there is a cover over the walkway), and then another elevator up to the room. I spend 3 days trying to find an easier route that didn't take me to a locked door. I found a slightly less convoluted one to the lobby from the room, but not the other direction. We once asked a staffer, who very nicely offered to show us the stairway that would avoid the first elevator ride, but that meant she had to walk downstairs with us to unlock the exit door. Beyond the slight inconvenience of the travel, I can't imagine what we would have done in the case of a fire. I know...that's a lot of complaints about something I gave 4 stars to. I would have done 3.5 if I could. But, it really was nice. It's just that it could have been outstanding.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from Porto from an enjoyable trip to this very interesting and atmospheric city. Being usually lucky weather wise I suppose we were bound to get some inclement weather at some point and had rain every day during our long weekend, but then its not 'green' Portugal for nothing. Any issue with the weather was offset by Porto and the superb Palacio do Freixo. Staff were extremely friendly and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good and plentiful and rooms and facilities were of a high standard. As we enjoy walking we did not mind the 45 minutes relatively brisk walk to get from the hotel to the main bit of Town and it was all along the river Duoro so no complaints. Taxis and buses are easily available anyway.
Definately will stay here again next visit to Porto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miwani59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Porto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our holiday was booked at short notice and we were not sure what to expect. From the moment of our arrival at the Hotel (a Pousada) we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff, and found that all the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. Restaurant food was good, as was the breakfast buffet, which was very generous. Our room overlooked the river and was very clean and comfortable. The room was quiet - no noisy gurgling pipes, or TV coming through the walls. We walked in to Porto one day and enjoyed seeing all the activity on and around the river. We found the old city very walkable - if rather steep at times! - and again encountered nothing but friendly welcomes whether in cafes, shops, museums, or churches. Taxis to and from Porto cost from 6 to 8 euros a trip, depending upon where we travelled from. We also used the Blue Bus hop on and off, which enabled us to see a lot more of the town than would have been possible otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Douro. Ask for a double bed, we had twins pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We had upgraded to a superior room. On checkin we were given a small room, 2 twins pushed together. When I spoke to the clerk at the desk, he informed me this was a superior room, "because it had a view". Browsing other rooms, we were well aware we had received one of the smallest rooms in the hotel. The hotel seems to have had better days. It is a palace but you actually stay in another building which can be like a maze to get to. We were told it was about 30 minute walk to the old town, it actually took us over an hour to get there. We took the hop on hop off bus into town in the mornings then a taxi back in the evenings. The service was so, so. Not overly friendly or personable. Breakfast was acceptable, dinners pricey but OK. Overall this was not what I expected for the price we paid. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing