We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Nearby Hotels
$303
$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Eurostars Oporto(Porto)(Great Value!)
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$146
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$210
$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel(Porto)
$577
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$259
$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$263
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$80
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,017)
Filter reviews
2,017 results
Traveler rating
1,453
405
95
42
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,453
405
95
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palacedouro riverinfinity poolflour millfactory buildingshuttle busbeautiful hotelshuttle servicemain buildingpublic roomswalk along the riverporto centrea short taxi rideguest roomsrooms are largebreakfast was excellentvisiting porto
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 2,017 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an absolutely excellent hotel, overlooking the river Duoro, a taxi ride from Porto. The rooms are very large, comfortable, and well equipped. Wi-fi works well. Poolside terrace is nice for sitting out enjoying a drink or snack. Evening meal in the restaurant was to die for! Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia_mitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon.
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We wanted to stay outside of Porto as we were driving, so picked this & it was perfect. Beautiful old palace well preserved & right on the river. The rooms are in an old 19th factory bldg next door...sounds strange, but works beautifully! Pool, spa, very chic & trendy right beside the 17th century fountain & gardens. The restaurant & lounges are in the gorgeous old palace. Staff delightful. Great dinner recommendations, plenty of parking & easy to get a taxi into old Porto. This was a favorite....****

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments about our services, faciliteis and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place won't disappoint you. A fantastic five stars hotel in an historic location with a modern twist. Service is very good and staff very gentle and friendly. Rooms are modern and the outdoor area with the pool, very well designed and relaxing.
A place to go at least once! The only cons was the king bed with two mattresses, so if you're a couple you'll experience a king of canyon in the middle of the bed...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo_Milan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Any of our Pousadas.
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We were upgraded to river facing room on arrival and the room was lovely. Hotel has many levels accessed mainly by lift which my wife finds claustrophobic. Otherwise could not be better as far as facilities are concerned.
Restaurant is very expensive and claims a Michelin star? We found the food bland and unexciting.
Staff were very helpful indeed especially in the bar where light snacks are available at reasonable cost.
There are two pools, one indoor and the other out. We did not use the latter as poolside had a few too many pigeons drinking in the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wobbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that! Kind regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is about a 40 minute walk along the river from Porto centre but only a five minute taxi ride (costs around six euros). The staff in this hotel are by far the most helpful. Fabio in reception is great, he helped us arrange a trip to FC Porto amongst other trips. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax, eat and drink well!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juicy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments about our services, faciliteis and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews