We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
$206
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$164
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$161
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$280
$201
Otel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$448
$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,135 results
Traveler rating
1,543
420
104
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,543
420
104
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palacedouro riverinfinity poolflour millbeautiful palacefactory buildinghotel shuttleshuttle servicemain buildingfree shuttlepublic roomswalk along the riverporto centreguest roomstaxi rideamazing hotelrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
913 - 918 of 2,135 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The public rooms for this Pousada are in a palace built by an Italian architect who made his reputation in Portugal in the 18th century. The private rooms are in an adjacent building that was once flour mill. The palace rooms are, of course refurbished, but retain a rococo flavor. The flour mill was apparently gutted and within its exterior walls was build the structure of a modern hotel. We were lucky and got room 101 which looked out over the garden and pool which appeared to almost part of the Douro River behind. On the hot day we arrived, the pool was most welcome.

The room itself had all the modern conveniences and a terrific bed. The breakfast buffet was abundant with fruit of all kinds, cereals and although the scrambled eggs were in a warmer, they were excellent. Cold meats and cheeses of all kinds. We had a mixed experience with dinner. One evening my wife ordered octopus and I cod fixed in a locally special way. Both dinners were disappointing. The next evening we played safe and had a black fettucini with shrimp. This was excellent. The wine recommendation was excellent and at a reasonable price.

Perhaps the biggest reason to recommend this hotel is its location. it is enough outside the city center to be quiet, but only 10-20 minutes by cab to where the action is, depending on traffic. The cost was as little as 5 Euros at a low traffic time and 8 Euros at the maximum.

We were fortunate to be able to take advantage of a senior rate of 153 Euros a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mriedlsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at this pousada. Amazing view from our room over the River Douro. Food was very good in the hotel restauraunt.
It was confusing going from our room which was in an ajoining biulding to the main hotel because we had to go down in the lift to a lower floor,walk along till we found the right elevator and then come up one floor to the reception and restaurant. But that was only a minor detail.
The hotel is very grand, beautiful lounge but the hotel is in a boring suburb of Porto.
It also has an indoor and outdoor pool.

Room Tip: ask for superior room and if you're over 55 it's 30% off
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon.
Best regards

Unit Manager
Carlos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel belongs to Posadas.
Exquisite and attentive service at check in, with a complementary glass of porto.
Rooms are spacious, good matress and all the details of a 5 stars.
The buffet breakfast is top quality.
Wifi in the rooms and the hotels through 30 minutes cards, thats one of the minor items.
The dinning in the hotel is expensive and not very good value for a city like Porto, very dull plates and the only reason why I did not give an excellent rating

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gintonic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our spacious room overlooking Douro River of changing beautiful scenes in different times of the day. It is a perfect location for leisure vocation - taking a short taxi ride to the old town then walk back along the river bank. Tranquil and quiet sleeping condition. Staff are enthusiastic to help. Would be perfect to have more choices for buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank organpipecoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments about our services, facilities and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards

Unit Manager
Carlos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I must agree with Michael076 and thank you to him for alerting me to where the entrance really is, immediately after the museum.
Room, again thank you Michael, I made sure we had the SW  corner not the SE. Must pause now because the incredibly stupid Wifi system is about to make me log in again. Reception gave me a sheet of paper with many combinations and agreed it was a crazy system and had no idea why it was so.
The restaurant. I can only think some other reviewers were on special all-in deals.
Nearly 10 euros for bread and olive oil (compulsory),  acceptable Portuguese peasant cuisine but at Lisbon city prices, wine at roughly a 500 per cent mark-up, be wary of the sweets on the buffet, they promise far more than they deliver and at nearly 9 euros they should be far better. Also a bill presented for signature with that throw-back to the 80s - a blank space for a suggested tip. I resisted the temptation to provide either kind of tip.
Overall nice surroundings but be prepared to have the decor and ambience spoiled by some diners in T-shirts and jeans and even a back-pack.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwisterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews