We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Easy 5 Stars Here As It's So Good”

Travesso Restaurante & Bar
Ranked #4 of 2,230 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $22 - $45
Description: Travesso played a trick on the rhythm of the present by lingering to the slow burner of the traditional Portuguese cuisine. We bring to the table the flavors of Portugal combining the seasoning of the new culinary techniques with the wise intuition of our elders. Everything to make you feel at home, just like in those Sunday family gatherings where we leave with a full belly and a happy palate.
Restaurant details
Description: Travesso played a trick on the rhythm of the present by lingering to the slow burner of the traditional Portuguese cuisine. We bring to the table the flavors of Portugal combining the seasoning of the new culinary techniques with the wise intuition of our elders. Everything to make you feel at home, just like in those Sunday family gatherings where we leave with a full belly and a happy palate.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

An easy 5 stars here as it's so good. Our waitress (whose name I missed) was really good and explained the menu - which needed fully explaining to us Brits. We didn't really know what we were ordering e.g. tuna pica-pau but WOW it was all so delicious including one of those 'best I've ever tasted' desserts called 'sericaia with fermented plum'. Just try it!
With a lovely Douro wine this was all at a reasonable price. Our waitress continued to be friendly and very helpful making this a wonderful last night in wonderful Porto.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bazza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travesso_restaurante, Gestor at Travesso Restaurante & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your opinion. We're glad you had such a positive experience! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2019

I visited this restaurant with 3 other friends while on vacation in Porto with the aim of trying some authentic portuguese food. The food was great as well as the cocktails. The waiters were able to explain everything on the menu and kept coming to our table to check on us. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 02regina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

To start with, the service was great. I had the chance to talk to almost all the waiters as they were more than happy about welcoming and helping people. As I was a little bit confused about the main dishes, the guy at the bar kindly explained each and every one in deep detail.
The food... wow! My codfish Braga style was amazing. Really good fish, perfect cooking (crunchy outside, fresh inside) and served in a fancy way. As one of the guys said: "like my grandma would prepare it but presented in a nowadays-style".
I didn't have the chance to try anything else but from what I saw and read, I would also recommend the pica-pau tuna!
And also important, very good prices!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank CrisCrisssA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travesso_restaurante, Gestor at Travesso Restaurante & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your visit and for the positive review! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Sehr gutes Essen, Kreativ, nicht zu teuer, sehr gute Qualität und supernetter Service - Was will man mehr.
Really good food, creative, good quality and not too expensive. The service is really good. A good start for a perfect dinner.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

I visited this restaurant last month with my wife, what a wonderful surprise!

The menu was carefully designed, with traditional recipes in small doses so you can absorb a full Portuguese experience.

Wonderful service, including a cellar full of regional wines.

I do recommend.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank JoseEduardoB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travesso_restaurante, Proprietário at Travesso Restaurante & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your visit and for sharing your experience! Hopefully you'll visit us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travesso Restaurante & Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Travesso Restaurante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing