We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful value for a weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 6Only Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
6Only Guest House
Ranked #5 of 150 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Finchley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful value for a weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This unprepossessing townhouse (with blue doors) on a road less than 5 minutes' walk from the main shopping streets is a truly fabulous find. Nothing was too much trouble for our host, Mariana, who welcomed us into her beautiful 6-room hotel, with a glass of port each.

The rooms are of a good size, with a fairly large, modern en-suite bathroom, which worked properly. The bed was comfortable, and quite charmingly, on each of the bedside tables was an apple (makes a change form chocolates - though no objection to that either!).

The breakfast was very nice, with a selection of yoghurts, cereal, ham, cheese, tea, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Scrambled egg on toast was offered too.

Mariana advised us as to what we should see, how to get there, marking our city map with the transport locations, and advising us as to where we should go to eat. These recommendations were spot-on too.

Next time we come to Porto, I'm not saying where we'll stay; but it only has six rooms!

Room Tip: The two largest rooms span the width of the property, on the first and second floors, at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence0452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    82
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
388
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A delightful and very friendly converted town house. The rooms retain so much charm and you can look at the before and during pictures of the challenges faced during the rennovation work. Now the house has thoroughly modern facilities and very comfy. Mariana is a most effervescent host, though Pedro was always occupied with his day job. Handy for the port area and the Port houses. A great break, and many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Tremendous small hotel. Lovely welcome from Maria who could give lessons on how to operate a small hotel. Very nice breakfast - we could not have asked for anything more. Location is perfect and parking is around the corner in safe parkade - only 7 euro/day. No need for car and indeed you don't want to drive these small streets. In a busy city it is amazing to have such a nice little oasis in the centre! We stayed 2 nights and that was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatronomicDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Mariana met us at the door beaming with friendliness and enthusiasm. She was also very helpful and even wanted to carry our luggage up to our first floor room. The room was very modern, quite spacious and the bed was comfortable. Mariana gave us excellent advice on what to visit and how to get there. Breakfast was very good - a good continental selection and a hot dish were offered. The guest house is not in the best part of town and could be easier to find - nthe one way traffic system took us quite a while to fathom out and our arival was delayed by an hour because of that. Really conveniently located for the train and bus station though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I cannot say enough about our stay with Mariana and Pedro. They have created a wonderful environment. Our room was lovely and spacious and the breakfast was the best we had over our 3 weeks in Portugal. We were only in Porto for two days and their recommendations gave us the perfect route to explore Porto including some of our favorite restaurants. Mariana and Pedro and their staff made us feel very welcome and the next time we will stay much longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackettville, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is hospitality at its finest. The owners have high standards and their staff follows them. We were welcomed by Veronica who was charming and helpful. Later, we met Mariana who lived up to the many positive comments she gets from all reviewers. Room 1 is classic and beautiful with a plaster design ceiling. It is also cool with AC during this very hot time which we are told is unusual. Everything here is tidy and clean and breakfast is fantastic with many home made items.

Room Tip: Room 1 is large, beautiful and cool in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Mariana and Pedro do everything to make your stay special in Porto. They mapped out our route to explore the city on the day we arrived, and they knew what was going on and where. Our room was cool (hot day), comfortable and spacious...With a welcome apple on the bedside table.
They gave us instructions on how to get to the train station and get our tickets to Guimareis, (very easy and definitely worth the $3.50euros...senior discount.... and one hour, ten minute, ride to a lovely world heritage town - the town where Portugal was born). Their recommendation of La Ricotta Ristorante was so good that we had dinner there two nights. Mariana and Pedro will certainly get repeat customers. They have only six rooms (ergo, 6Only) so reservations are a good idea.

Room Tip: Room facing the back was cool and quiet. We liked being on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel99203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Porta Azul
Porta Azul
#3 of 150 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa dos Loios by Shiadu
0.4 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#6 of 150 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6Only Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6Only Guest House

Property: 6Only Guest House
Address: Rua Duque Loule 97, Porto 4000-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 6Only Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only six Rooms, the 6Only was born in 2009,and it was created for those who appreciate urban and modern environments. Situated right in the center of Porto, it is a unique, cozy and familiar space. In 2015, we opened 6 Suites, in the adjoining building. It is not a Hotel, but our house, where the old lives together with the new. We are very pleased that you come to visit us. Pedro e Mariana ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your 6Only Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6only Guest House Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing