We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 6Only Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
6Only Guest House
Ranked #5 of 148 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the moment we were greeted at the door to leaving two days later, the young owner Marianna could not have been more helpful. A taxi was organised to pick us up from the airport, again a charming man, Pedro.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, excellent bathrooms and bedding.
Great breakfast with the best orange juice we had during our two week stay in Portugal.
Good location for sightseeing in Porto, bus tours stop just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwwright45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    80
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
385
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a beautiful guesthouse run by a lovely young couple who renovated a really old derelict building and turned it into their guesthouse and also their home (they live on the top floor). It's very much a cool boutique hotel and designed like one. You can tell they are really proud of the place and they genuinely enjoy looking after their guests, which makes you feel at home straight away. There's a lovely sitting room where you can hang out, listen to music and read a selection of books they have there for you (in case it's raining, which it was!). Mariana & Pedro are also full of great advice about the city and can recommend local places to eat.

The breakfast is delicious, lots of choice with some local pastries and quince jam homemade by Pedro's mom. And there is jazz playing in the background, what a lovely way to start the day!

The location is really central and only a five minute walk to the metro, which is the best way to get to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We choose this place because it is so well ranked on TA but after our stay I am certain that it will soon be number one! As a group of 8 we stayed there last week for 3 nights and found nothing to complain about. Eventually we were spoiled by the service and kindness of Marianna, the owner. Although still very young, this is the kind of person who really takes care of her guests. From the nice breakfast until the open bar in the evening, everything was perfect. The rooms are basic but very well maintained and clean.
As sometimes owners ask what could we do better, the only thing that I would suggest is: if you ever need to renew the beds (actually very comfortable now) then maybe think about larger and longer beds.
This is the only suggestion I could make and all of us would be happy to come back to Porto and for sure no one would need to look for another place to stay.

Room Tip: 4 rooms at the back (2 doubles + 2 twins) and 2 larger at the front (with double glass windows) Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We got the prime room, first floor (Second to us) front. A lot of stairs as the ceilings are very tall, the second floor (Third to us) is almost four flights up Nice breakfast of Scrambled eggs. fresh squeezed OJ, croissants/bread and ham and cheese, but the same everyday.. The owners and staff are wonderful, and eager to please. Funicular to the river/waterfront is only two blocks away, unfortunately it only ran from 8am to 8 pm while we were there so we would take it down to the river for dinner and then taxi(€6 or 7) back. The funicular goes to midnight starting May 1. There is a tram line close but tram transportation in Porto is not really a viable option as it is in Lisbon. Ten to fifteen minute walk to the Santa Benito train station (€8 taxi from the Capahan train station). If and when we return to Porto we will make sure to return here also. You need to note that there is no sign at all in front which confused us when arriving. Look for the address and the blue door.

Room Tip: Second floor front (First floor in Europe) is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braidmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

6Only attends to the details that make for a memorable visit. First and foremost, Mariana is a hard-working, attentive host. She really listened to our requests and helped us find places (e.g. restaurants, sites, etc.) that would meet our needs. Brochures would "magically" appear in our room after we inquired about a day-trip out of town. She recommended great restaurants. And, on hearing that I was under the weather the first day, she checked up on my status nearly every time we saw her. Her attentiveness was never intrusive....she was simply diligent in her effort to ensure guests were comfortable and well-informed.

The building itself was a fascinating blend of old and new. Our room, outfitted with modern furniture, also had the original refurbished ornate ceiling. The grand staircases were kept and decorated with modern art. Do be advised that there is no elevator, in case you have mobility problems that would keep you from climbing stairs.

I loved the little touches:
- our towels were different colors. I can't count how many times in other hotels I have wondered which of the towels was mine, rather than my husband's. Easy to remember here that I used the orange towel and he had the blue.
- in addition to the duvet, which many guests love but are much too hot for me, there was a blanket on the bed that I could use instead.
- an apple on each of the bedside tables.
- a reading lamp next to the comfortable sofa (unbelievably many hotels don't offer adequate lighting)

Even if I could afford more expensive lodging, if I ever traveled to Porto again, I would stay at 6Only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingtontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A wonderful renovated old house with an absolute sweetheart (Mariana) as your host. We were warmly welcomed with a glass of Port wine after a long train ride from Lisbon. The room was large and spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom and plenty of closet space. There is no TV in the room, but after a long day of exploring Porto you really won't miss it. An amazing breakfast really got each day off to a good start. It featured fresh squeezed orange juice, local jelly, scrambled eggs, meats, cheese, yogurt and plenty of breads and croissants. And Mariana's restaurant suggestions were spot on! Local places that were very affordable and delicious. She also provided us with tons of information on Porto. The location is perfect as it's on a quiet street just a few blocks from the center of town. We had a very early flight so Mariana packed us some goodies and arranged for a really nice taxi driver to take us to the airport. She was probably the most gracious host we've ever had while traveling Europe for many years. Can't recommend 6Only enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvlv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

You'd never know it from the outside, but the 6Only is large and quite spacious on the inside. As with most places in Portugal, be prepared to walk up a few stairs. It's clean, efficiently run, and perfectly located. I had thought that the location would be a bit out-of-the-way, but it was only about a five-minute walk from where we wanted to be.

Mariana was friendly and helpful, answered all of our questions and gave us recommendations. Our room was clean and comfortable, if a tiny bit cramped (we had the only twin room, and knew that it would be a bit small, but it wasn't nearly as small as other reviews have made it out to be). There was even a small patio so we could step outside for air.

Breakfast was simple, but plentiful and delicious. Checking in and out was smooth, and Mariana helped us deal with parking. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it for any trip to Porto on a budget.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank truemind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.0 mi away
Porta Azul
Porta Azul
#3 of 148 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa dos Loios by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6Only Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6Only Guest House

Property: 6Only Guest House
Address: Rua Duque Loule 97, Porto 4000-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 6Only Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only six Rooms, the 6Only was born in 2009,and it was created for those who appreciate urban and modern environments. Situated right in the center of Porto, it is a unique, cozy and familiar space. In 2015, we opened 6 Suites, in the adjoining building. It is not a Hotel, but our house, where the old lives together with the new. We are very pleased that you come to visit us. Pedro e Mariana ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 6Only Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6only Guest House Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing