We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alvares Cabral Guest House
Ranked #44 of 170 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late June and would recommend it to everyone .The owner sat with us when we arrived,offered us a welcome drink and proceeded to outline and mark routes for all the areas of interest in Porto.
There is 24 hour reception and all of the staff and the owner's father were helpful friendly and welcoming.
The room was nicely decorated,very clean with everything we needed It was also very quiet which was a big plus for us as were were in Porto during St John's day festival and had we stayed in the centre sleep would have been impossible.
There is a nice garden with chairs and table and sun lounges and also a kitchen for guests to use. We have very fond memories of Alvares Cabral and wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozvalAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

That is a very nice and great guest house with a sympathetic service. I think the host is very sympathetic and sociable. I can advise this hotel. The breakfast is very delicious, then we ate in the garden. There is one disadvantage, because there is not a air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for three days this week: the place is very clean, and the reception is opened 24 h, which is comfortable if arriving late at night.
The room where I stayed, on the third floor, has a little window, which is the only inconvenient but it's a comfortable option for two, as the bathroom. Everything in there was working good: wifi, tv, hot water in the shower. The location is five minutes walking by Trindade metro station, from where you can go easily everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was in Porto with my husband and my two children 8 and 12 years old in April 2013.. We stayed in Alvares Cabral Guest House for three nights. This is a very nice guest house with kind staff, clean rooms, at a very interesting price.

Room Tip: our room was in the last floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuela120769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had three nights at the Residencia Alvares Cabral in January. We emailed for availability from Lisbon and received a prompt reply informing us of the rooms they had free and the price per room. On arrival we were met by the charming host who soon set about showing us all the places we should visit whilst in the city. We ended up with a map overwhelmed with highlights and circles!
The room was spotlessly clean and bright with an ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was the usual continental fare and served by a cheery Portuguese lady.
It was our first visit to Porto and we could see why the host was so justifiably proud of his city and wanting to show it off......! Wonderful city and the Alvares Cabral was a great find.
(p.s. the wifi never worked in three days we were there but that was our only negative point).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvares cabral g, Gerente at Alvares Cabral Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi Helen.

It was a pleasure have you here with us! Thank you for your kind review! We were just concerned about the fact that you said the wifi connection didn't work in your 3 days stay. The wifi for guests is the same as the staff uses and we found no connectivity problem. Some times guests have problems with the password ( all caps) or could be another device problem, anyway the internet was working otherwise we would have notice immediately. If we knew that you had this problem we would be happy to help you. Next time for shore we will solve that!

Hope to see you in another opportunity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great way to visit Porto! Our room was definitely big enough for the the two of us. The only disadvantage was that the room was rather cold (we stayed here in January) and humid. Because there is no heating in the rooms, they put an electric stove in our room, which helped a lot to fight the cold in the mornings and evenings.
Overall: great hostel, good value for money and genuine friendly staff! We didn't like the breakfast though; bland coffee and sweeted croissants...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_P88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here two night in this very well organised and pleasent B&B. It has wifi a very good cleaning service and it is decorated with all sea findings by the owners.
te brakfast was very good and plenty. The room was quite small but very functional and well organised.
The wifi service work egregiously. The total cost for two night for two peple was of: 61€ including breakfast but only for one day.
Go for it!

Room Tip: ASk for the room in the back the ones in the fron may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princeofthebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1 mi away
Lindo Vale Guest House
Lindo Vale Guest House
#33 of 170 in Porto
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boavista Guest House
Boavista Guest House
#38 of 170 in Porto
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charming House Marques
Charming House Marques
#28 of 170 in Porto
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dukes Corner Guest House
Dukes Corner Guest House
#26 of 170 in Porto
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dear Porto Guest House
Dear Porto Guest House
#51 of 170 in Porto
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Porto Seven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvares Cabral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvares Cabral Guest House

Address: Rua de Alvares Cabral 341, Porto 4050-041, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $36 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alvares Cabral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alvares Cabral Guest House is located near Oporto's centre, a 5-minute walk from Trindade Metro Station (with connection to airport). It offers free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception.Alvares Cabral offers a range of rooms to suit different budgets. The rooms have either shared or private bathroom facilities.Parking is available on-site or in a secure garage in the same street upon request. Francisco Sa Carneiro Airport is 15 minutes' drive and a shuttle service is also available upon request.The main sights are 1 km away from the guest house, including Casa da Musica. Sao Bento Train Station is 20 minutes' walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Alvares Cabral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing