We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a friendly place”
Review of A Grade

A Grade
Ranked #81 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a friendly place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I tried this place on a recommendation from her brother. Its quite small, only seating 16 people ( book or go early ) We were greeted and made to feel very welcome even though we had not booked. The food was excellent, I had the fried sardines and my girlfriend had the Sole. The service throughout was brilliant and the cost was very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    305
    86
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a delightful, small (only four tables inside) restaurant on a narrow street snaking up from the Duoro. I ordered the grilled cod and my wife ordered clams. The cod was perfect: a bit oily and salty, and just rich with flavor. We were both extremely pleased with the food and the service. As with many -- maybe most -- restaurants in Porto, they will bring appetizers to your table without your having requested them. Simply say no thanks, however, and the appetizers go away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesEVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home made meal of epic proportions.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant a lot! The young goat was delicious, the whole shrimp was perfect and both were huge servings. We knew we were supposed to have reservations, but went early and the boss let us in. His son and him were great (even with dad having a language barrier)... best meal in Portugal, not pricey and GREAT service.

Had a blast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Memorable meal!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed lunch here so much we ended up coming back the next day. The restaurant itself is very small -- maybe 4 tables inside and a couple of tables outside. Our meals were excellent (I would definitely recommend the veal as well as the grilled prawns. If offered, definitely try the octopus tapas!).

Dining at A Grade felt like we were eating a home-cooked meal, and I mean that in the best sense of the word. Definitely one of the meals we enjoyed most in Porto.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klavier_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly below rating's expectations”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The commercial is easy going and does basic jokes (his clients are all called 'chef') but there is too much dollars in his eyes in the interaction (pushing the appetizers...). We were 5 and all disappointed. Food was not fresh (maybe because we came during the low season). Only the price was higher than expectations...

Helpful?
1 Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Grade also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to A Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing