We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencial Monte Carlo
Ranked #119 of 170 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed this hotel two weeks ago. The staffs were v nice and helpful. In my original planning, I have booked a room for two nights. However, since my trip have been changed, I have to cancel one night booking. They didn't charge me any cost even I decided to cancel the second night booking. It is very considerate.
As for the room:
Downside the flush system was not working and wifi signal is too weak. Upside: Room condition is acceptable in such price level. Location is good and just nearby metro station (around 2 mins by walking).

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lamlokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmontecarlo, Proprietário at Residencial Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comment!
The problem with the flush system was fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 177 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Residencial Monte Carlo is an amazing bargain of a hotel, situated a stones throw from Campo 24 de Agosto Metro which is served direct from Porto airport (30 min journey for about 2 euros), and only about a 10 minute walk from the city centre. Our room was spacious, had a balcony, great en-suite, good wi-fi, very user-friendly heating/aircon. Staff friendly and helpful (emergency need for corkscrew was no trouble at all). If you pressed me for a minus point, the toilet roll didn't get replenished (I'm sure it would have been OK if I had asked for more). A cafe next door will do you a light breakfast with coffee for less than 2 euro's, and there is a small supermarket 100 metres away where you can get basic provisions including vino verde at fridge temperature for 2 euro's a bottle. Summary: awesome

Room Tip: I know there are some rooms without windows, if you can wangle a window/balcony room without paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Farthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmontecarlo, Proprietário at Residencial Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in this place at the beginning of October.
We enjoyed our stay here, however the room which we stayed in did not have any windows and had quite a damp smell.
That being said, we paid a very low price for our 4 night stay (and we were in the economy double)
The shower was good and bed was comfortable.
It suited our needs as we only use the room as a place to sleep.
Fast and reliable Wifi a plus.
A little way out of the old centre but still only a 20 min walk.
Would recommend if you're travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Avoid the economy double if you are claustrophobic as no natural light!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MorfeasBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmontecarlo, Proprietário at Residencial Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comment!
In fact you stayed in one of our 3 economic bedrooms. As you said it is very cheap but the downside is that it has no windows. However it has air conditioning, private bathroom, good area and was fully renovated 3 years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had doubts about booking this place, but Im glad we did. Please was in good location, clean and friendly. There are good and bad points to be considered.

Good:
Clean place, spacious room, good water pressure shower.
Fairly close to Porto Campanha train station, very close to groceries and metro station 24 augusto
15 minutes walk to Porto center
Friendly lady on reception and very friendly housekeeper
Comfy bed, flat screen TV,

Bad:
Dark room, ugly view for industrial part of city, but never mind that. No coffee or Tea facilities in the room.
Can be noisy at night, but that is guests fault not owners.
A bit doggy area of Porto, but no issues.
Room decor was a bit old fashioned and odd

Generally speaking it was good and

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmontecarlo, Proprietário at Residencial Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comment!
Unfortunately the rooms back view is not very beautifull because Porto still has much to do in terms of building requalification.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed for one night in July with my friends. It was exactly what it looks like in the pictures, clean and very stylish.
Our triple room (a double bed and a single bed) was perfect for a friend trip in Porto. The room was clean, lovely and comfortable with free Wi-Fi and a balcony. All amenities are in good working order. I found just about everything I needed!
We had a car so we did not mind the location. Car parking is difficult in Porto but you'll find some parking places along the street. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlowerGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmontecarlo, Proprietário at Residencial Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights and cannot ask for more. Took the suite junior. Bath tub good enough to fit 2, wifi is good, rounded bed and the room is full of mirrors (^_^). City center is at a 10 minute walk. Our room was clean and cleaned on both days. Check in is at 13:00. Very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldwidegener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmontecarlo, Proprietário at Residencial Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed three nights in early May, don't think you could find better value anywhere. The rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. It is a little outside the centre of Porto but what do you expect for the money?! Right next the Campo 24 Agusto metro station and only a short 20 downhill walk from the river or the old porto tow. fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmontecarlo, Proprietário at Residencial Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Many thanks for your honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Vice Rei
Hotel Vice Rei
#59 of 109 in Porto
188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#49 of 109 in Porto
859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial Belo Horizonte
Residencial Belo Horizonte
#129 of 170 in Porto
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residencial Porto Rico
Residencial Porto Rico
#121 of 170 in Porto
86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alvares Cabral Guest House
1.3 mi away
Residencial Vale Formoso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Monte Carlo

Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 45, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $28 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residencial Monte Carlo is the result of an effort to provide Porto city with a tourist accommodation that harmonized comfort, quality and affordable prices. Occupying a centenary building in the centre of Porto, it was completely renovated and equipped in 2009 and today is a perfect combination of history and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Otel, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencial Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing