We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but a bit far from the city-centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Ranked #24 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Taranto, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a bit far from the city-centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed there three nights. The real problem is the distance from the city center because you need a taxi if you don't travel in your car. . Also the surroundings are not appealing. It's a clean and comfortable hotel. Staff helpful. Free internet connection but it was impossible to see a TV Italian channel. Food at dinner and breakfast was good as to variety and quality. Possibility to taste traditional Portuguese food. The swimming pool is too small and you have to book in advance

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariateresa1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    248
    49
    10
    3
See reviews for
79
201
14
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The hotel is walking distance to The University of Porto (FEUP) but rather far away from the city centre.
Staff was very helpful.
The room was very comfortable. My room was too close to the lifts, which were making a constant noise: ask to be away from lifts.
A nice breakfast was included in the rather cheap price I paid for this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mybloodyvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Listen carefully as the (actually very straightforward) directions for the 10 mins walk to the Metro terminus are explained by the delightfully friendly reception staff - otherwise you will spend hours wandering around housing estates and alongside motorways in the northern suburbs of Oporto, far from tourist attractions!
The hotel itself is absolutely superb - gleaming marble, tiles and mirrors with en-suite bedrooms fully equipped with all mod-cons, shower and bath, hairdryer, toiletries, towels galore, packets of clensing tissues and sewing kit etc etc. Also a mini-bar and digital safe - but take a travel kettle if you fancy a d-i-y tea or coffee in preference to using room-service.
The piece -de- resistance of this establishment is the gargantuan buffet hot and cold breakfast - running for 3 hours per day - with at least 50 different foods and drinks to mix and match according to taste.
I haven't stayed at other hotels in Porto but I would rate this 5 out of 5. Even the slightly odd location gave us a chance to discover local shops and cafes and it forced us to get to immediate grips with the "Andante" ticketing system on the superbly modern Metro.

Room Tip: Location not a problem after day 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Supersnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimaraes, Portugal
Level Contributor
226 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

This hotel is a great place but it far from all turistic spots and even from public transportation. It´s more an hotel for business and not much for tourists due to his location

Location - Located in the outskirts of Oporto, in a residencial area, there is nothing of interesting nearby - not even nice restaurantes - The closest public tranportation is at Hospital de S. João - a solid 10 to 15 minutes walk.

Rooms/bathroom - good size and nice design. Modern details in the decor. Confy bed and as the area is residencial is very quiet...

Restaurants - Had dinner at restaurant and it was quite good - as expected for this kind of hotel - The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices


If location is not an issue - this hotel in an excelent choice....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vmimartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
247 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, as arranged by a tour company. They delivered us here from the airport, and on to our next destination - so the location was not a big deal for us.
It is quite a way out from the city centre, and the nearest metro station is about a 15 minute walk away - and not a very scenic route, although we felt safe.
The rooms were extremely nice, fairly roomy, well furnished and with excellent high quality tiles etc in the bathroom. The breakfast was very good, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our one dinner there was a buffet affair, which was OK.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Cleanliness of rooms and Professionalism of all staff.
The SPA was great!!!!
Good facilities in general and very good selection of typical dishes.
I would advice this Hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benemich75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowy Sacz, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Everything was new at the hotel. The indoor and outdoor was clean and well kept. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food is great. Two PCs with free Internet near the reception. We had additional free day and receptionist helped me to organize a trip to Fatima.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.9 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AC Hotel Porto
AC Hotel Porto
#43 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
3.0 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#11 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel

Property: Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Address: Rua Maria Feliciana, 100, Porto 4465-283, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Porto
#8 Spa Hotel in Porto
#12 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#28 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axis Porto Business And Spa Hotel
Axis Porto Business Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing