We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and wine”
Review of Restaurante Almeja

Restaurante Almeja
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 6/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #43 of 2,233 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $62
Description: Casual Fine dining restaurant working with the best ingredients according to the seasons. Menus change according to product availability. Warm and cosy environment.
Restaurant details
Description: Casual Fine dining restaurant working with the best ingredients according to the seasons. Menus change according to product availability. Warm and cosy environment.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

We came to Almeja on our first night of a long weekend in Porto and it was a culinary highlight for us. The menu is quite succinct that couples some classics with more adventurous ingredients. We ordered the pork and the pigeon and were blown away with both, so much so that we ordered another main to share so we didn't miss out - the beef was just as beautiful as the first 2. The wine we ordered was delicious and for the quality very reasonably price, again it was so wonderful we ordered it twice and both agreed it was the best wine we tried whilst in Porto, and we tried a lot! We cannot wait.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

What an excellent restaurant this is! We went for lunch, sitting outside on a beautiful May Day. The staff were extremely helpful and we chose the tasting menu and Douro wines. Very good food. The dishes, which seemed to flow nicely one after the other at the right pace, were full of flavour and beautifully presented. All in all a superb lunch with excellent service.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank RHouse69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

We cannot say enough about this gem of a restaurant in old town Porto! The food, chef, service, and wine pairings were all exquisite! We have enjoyed superb restaurants in London, New York, Atlanta, Chicago, and LA and this small jewel compares to the best of them.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank GeorgeOscarBolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

Although there is a school of thought to suggest the most authentic Portuguese food is very simple, we enjoyed a rather more sophisticated tasting menu at Almeja. There were some unusual flavours and combinations but they worked brilliantly! The wine pairings were interesting and the service excellent and very friendly. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank B6272HYjamesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

Apart from the delicious supper my friend and I enjoyed what really made our meal so enjoyable was the owners whole approach. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of wine as if we had just arrived at a friends home rather than a restaurant. The small restaurant we learnt had only been open for a month and the aim was to create a relaxed atmosphere and serve great food, which they have definitely achieved!

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank 538jacquic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Almeja also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Almeja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing