We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Octopus - Best in Portugal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Guarany

Cafe Guarany
Ranked #106 of 1,632 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Octopus - Best in Portugal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We love our octopus and ate is almost every day as we do not get to experience back home. The Octopus starter at the Cafe Guarany is to die for, the best octopus we every ate. Wait staff our very helpful and attentive for a large place. We did not attend on a Fado night would return again for another fabulous meal in a moment if we lived in Porto. Portuguese people are wonderful as is their cuisine!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    481
    146
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated food and prices, stay away from it !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited the Guarany on Jan.3rd, ordered salmon and shrimps (did not get any shrimps), and Duck magret. The food was very very average (when I go to the restaurant I expect food to be better than when I cook it... and I am no great cook), portions were ridiculously little, and the wine too dry. Bill 45 € --> not worth it !
Service was ok though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yohan12932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We strolled down to this delightful cafe one evening and my husband's veal and my sea bream were among the best meals of our trip! Wonderful service (in English) and fare.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank elhoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good value in a central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Friendly and efficient service with good value food. Located right in the centre of Porto's heritage area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stuart - Caroli... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food and expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very expensive menu for Porto, we had cod fish and it was regular, no seasoning and nothing especial that could justify the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Guarany also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cafe Guarany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing