We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, helpful staff. Great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porto Coliseum Hotel
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I’ve stayed there 1 night only but I would definitely get the room for longer if I could.
Location is perfect.
There was a bit noise from the street, night life but it’s because my windows were facing the street. However had a double bed for me/Single Room, clean bathroom and girl at the reception desk was very friendly. Gave me some tips about the short trip I made.
They stored my bag for a day when I’ve been visiting Porto, no cost for that. Room rate was very good.

Did not have a chance to taste the breakfast as left very early to explore Porto.

There is a great small-size super market few meters away where you can get lovely snacks, fresh fruits and great wines and anything else you need.

Also small bistros around will provide you with excellent snacks for a very good prices.

It’s also really easy to get from and to the airport with the tram that takes your there in around 40 minutes for a small fee.

However Proto is an amazing, pittoresque and charming city with incredibly friendly and welcoming people, delicious food and very good wines also astonishing views so once you have your neat bed and bathroom ready for you, your stay will be always memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GosiaDonatien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 146 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were given a familly room: the paint was coming off the walls, which were stained with humidity. The bathroom was extremely essential (no-hairdryer) and we were plagued with mosquitoes every time we opened the windows, even though it was august and therefore hot.
Breakfast was also very essential- no fruit or yogurt.
The photos on the website do not correspond to the hotel, at least, what we saw of it.
It is true that the position is very central and the rooms seemed to be kept clean.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

the hotel is very central and cheap... but the walls are paper thin, the carpet was stained and I felt like tiny bugs where crawling on my skin under the sheets. showers are just a curtain on a rail in the bathroom. you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgold24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Was here last week for 2 nights... The walls are paper thin so we were lucky enough to listen in on a couple making love in the room next to us. The place is not bad, if you want to stay in a very "average"place. However, the location is superb. Very central location... close to shops, restaurants (Restaurante Escondidhindo, a superb restaurant, is located right across the street!) city center, and Sao Bento train station, which is downtown Porto's main train station.

The worst thing that happened to us during our stay was the fact that the door was LOCKED when we were trying to get back in at around 10:30pm, after having dinner. No one was available to open the door for us. We rang the bell/buzzer continuously for about 15 minutes. It was freezing and POURING rain outside, and finally a man opened the door for us and HE HIMSELF seemed very annoyed, although he did apologize.

Anyway, if you don't mind a 2.5 star hotel in a central location, this is your place to be! We paid 35 euros/night... Very cheap price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhk202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Very cheap, easy to reach, central, essential, some noise during the night because of people standing outside the cinema. Suggested for a week-end with friends or gf/bf!!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank kmauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My wife and I had a delightful stay there, directly across the street from my venue, Maus Habitos. Easy Walking all over town from there, will be Returning there in April!

Steve Mackay, Saxophonist

Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
Thank stansax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ivo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Premium Porto Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#54 of 109 in Porto
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#52 of 109 in Porto
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#35 of 109 in Porto
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#34 of 109 in Porto
1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Coliseum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Coliseum Hotel

Address: Rua de Passos Manuel 135, Porto 4000-385, Portugal (Formerly Residencial Escondidinho)
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $74 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Coliseum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porto Coliseum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing