We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What wonderful hosts!”
Review of Guest House Douro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House Douro
Ranked #1 of 173 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Carmen and Joao made Porto our favorite city in Portugal. Their recommendations for sites to visit, walking tours, wineries, restaurants and interesting attractions were spot on. They were friendly and gracious and thoughtful. We did not get a river view room but it did not matter. The rooms are small but very cleverly laid out with many amenities. The breakfasts were fabulous!

Room Tip: Be sure you know where this place is before you drive into Porto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgerwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 720 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Guesthouse Douro. We were enchanted by the city of Porto, the vibrant music and magic of the boardwalk below our window overlooking the Douro River. Our hosts Carmin and Jaou quickly became family who helped us find authentic restaurants, guided us to sights to see, and seemed to have all the time in the world to chat with us when we returned in the evenings from busy days of walking and exploring. Jaou's breakfasts were works of art, and truly delicious. Carmin is full of fun, yet helpful in every way.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking river was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cberg0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in guest house Douro nearly a year ago, and had a fantastic stay. It's the type of place where not only the b&b is superb, but where the hosts also help you organize your stay to experience Porto's finest.

We arrived late on a cold december evening, to find a warm, comfortable room with a magical view of the port at night, with a beautiful historic schip moored just in front and the signs of all major Port houses visible on the opposite bank. Carmen managed to get us a late reservation in a small, exquisite restaurant at two minutes walk and it too was simply perfect...

Occasionally in the morning when I press my orange juice at home, I still find myself thinking back to the most delicious juice they served at Douro as part of the exceptional breakfast. If you go to Porto, don't hesitate...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillermo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was dark and rainy the night we arrived at Guest House Douro ... then we got a flat tire parking the rental car. Joao helped us communicate with the car rental company and then brought us each a fabulous glass of vinho tinto as we settled into our room with a view of the river and the lights of the port lodges and bridge. Guest House Douro has an outstanding location for touring all the highlights of Porto on foot, and Maria's customized map ensured we saw everything we came to see. Joao gets you off to a great start with his amazing breakfasts! Our room was small but because of the clever design and creative decorating we had everything we needed. Carmen and Joao told us exactly how best to get back to Lisbon (sans rental car) on the train and everything worked out perfectly. We have wonderful memories of our trip to Porto and hope to return to the Guest House Douro some day. Warm hugs!

Room Tip: We loved our room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cortset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have just stayed here for 2 nights with friends. Staying at this B&B 'made' our weekend in Porto. Carmen and Joao are the most attentive, and superb hosts. They know everything there is to know about their city and they will charmingly assist you with anything and everything - arranging visits to Port Houses, booking restaurants, taxis..... The breakfast is simply amazing and sets you up for the day and rooms are delightful. If you are planning a trip to Porto I would definitely recommend Guest House Douro - it is also located in the prettiest part of Porto and is seconds away from great restaurants, bars and a lovely lovely view of the river. Go!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Carmen and Joao are superlative hosts. They attend to every detail. This two night stay was perfection. Their guest house is immaculate. As for breakfast, just wait and see. A true delight. They even have a parking deal with a nearby underground garage at 50% off.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is probably the best place to stay in Porto. Our 3rd floor room overlooked the river and all the happenings below...We could have just hung out of that window all day!
Carmen and Jaoa are a delightful couple who obviously take great pride in their guest house. Jaoa's specialty is the breakfast in the morning and his beautifully sculptured fruit plate. It was almost to pretty to eat! Both of them are quick to offer advice on where to eat and things to do.
Our room was very comfortable but a bit small. We had come back from being out all day and found most of our belongings had been rearranged and moved. I am sure they were just trying to make things easier and make more room for us but we found it just a bit odd and it took us awhile to find our things in their new places.
We loved Porto and the Guest House Douro and couldn't imagine staying any where else.

Room Tip: Get the river view room on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor. It can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#5 of 110 in Porto
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 110 in Porto
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 110 in Porto
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Douro

Address: Rua Fonte Taurina 99 101, Porto 4050-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $160 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historical Oporto, the Guest House Douro offers a unique and personal experience. It is the first and only guesthouse on Oporto's waterfront. Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site, the G.H.D. enjoys breathtaking vistas. All rooms offer direct views, either of the Douro river, the Dom Luis bridge and the Port lodges that line the riverbank or of the romantic Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest streets of Oporto. Only steps away from an abundance of attractions and historical monuments. Create beautiful memories and let the Guest House Douro be one of them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Douro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing