We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place you can stay in Porto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porto Downtown Hostel
Ranked #123 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed there for 5 night. it was absolutley awsome. The staff was absolutley grate. They help u with everything u want. everyone is very friendly. Every thing is clean. And the hostel is in a very very very good location. U are in the middle of everything. Book here a place because is extraordinary. You can watch movies and eat and do what ever u want...just come here is very nice. i hope i will come in June one more time! Thank you for everything. Serbu Madalina from Romania

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly_smc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Yea, what can I say about the downtown and the two (nice) "crazy" girls who run this hostel ? ? ?
Maybe the hardest fact is, my plan was to stay only for a few days or max. a week in Porto but in the end I've been there for six weeks because Porto and the hostel are really beautiful places!
The very best in this hostel is the amazing staff who calls you by your name and care about you like a family member.They are also extremely friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for a good restaurant or a special place in Porto, just ask Vera , Barbara or anybody else of the staff and they'll help you for sure.
By the way, the girls also like to chat with the guests about everything and they're funny, too.
The hostel is situated at a walking distance from everything that's interesting in Porto.Step out of the hostel and you are in the middle of the best pub scene in town.
The facilities are clean and well designed. The free breakfast is good and the kitchen one of my favorite places with everything you need includig a big screen (who is not really needed in a kitchen).
Another great place to stay is the TV-room also equiped with kableTV, DVD player and many DVDs and a couch ful of pillows.The only thing I missed was a playstation or something like that, but not really.
The only downside (because I really want to find one) is the noise on then street in the night from friday to saturday because the youth of Porto knows how to celebrate and make party but the best idea is - just join them and be a part of their nightlife.

Well, the downtown is probably the best hostel I ever stayed in and this is really not simply a phrase!
I can defintely recommend it to everybody who is looking for a peaceful place to stay in Porto.
So, that's it !
Thank's again Barbara and Vera for the great time with you, not to forget Rita, we startet at the same time at the hotel, she behind the reception, me as the guest, and all the other staff.
Special thank's to IKEA because most of the furniture of the hostel is from there and I liked it really very much, especially the dormbeds "Tromsö" - I slept in it like a baby all the time!

PS:Don't miss the free walking tour with PanchoTours every morning!They pick you up at 11:30 from the hostel and ask for "Graca" if possible because she is the best walking guide in Town !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
75  Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

What made this hostel stand out from the others was the staff actually made an effort to try to remember each of the guests names. It seems like a small thing, but when travelling its these sort of things that just make the experience so much more enjoyable. The hostel as such is located really downtown close to a lot of the main attractions, has large room with lockers and is clean. Great experience

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathaniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I loved my stay here! The 5* welcoming staff, that made my check-in and did a tour showing the hostel really made me feel like home, always ready to tell you everything about the city. I was amazed by all the facilities, all the colorful areas and everything was always perfectly clean (fell in love with the kitchen). "In the center of the city center" that was how the girl in the reception described it ans it's so true :) You have everything around, restaurants, lots of cool bars and clubs, monuments, etc. I will come back and i love Porto.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malia2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Downtown is by far the best Hostel you could ask for in Porto. Friendly, Inviting, Clean, Very safe, Central, Easy for transport and most of all a load of fun.
I'm travelling by myself and felt very happy and safe. Ladies on reception are a joy to work with, cheery, helpful and professional. The weekend pub crawls are fantastic too. Communal areas are very well set up, suitable for quiet reading or chatting with other travellers, playing cards or a few board games. I would reccomend this Hostel to anyone travelling to Porto.
Only thing to be wary of is street noise, If your after a quiet night on a fri/sat eve I wouldn't reccomend trying to sleep Porto locals don't drink or socialise inside so are always on the street. Join the party ;)

Room Tip: Rooms are large with bunkbeds, no aircon, balcony doors for breeze instead, big locker for every per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Good location, GREAT staff, clean, breakfast included, good facilities (kitchen/internet/tv/movies it's all there)! I'd recommend it to any type of traveller. The two owners are young and amazingly enthusiastic, which is the big charm of this place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirjammm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Great decor, modern, staff were amazing! Excellent location, had a brilliant stay would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
Thank billie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Oceano Guest House
0.2 mi away
Nice Way Porto
Nice Way Porto
#35 of 253 in Porto
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oporto Invictus Hostel
Oporto Invictus Hostel
#37 of 253 in Porto
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 253 in Porto
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Hostel
Wine Hostel
#7 of 253 in Porto
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duas Nacoes Guest House
Duas Nacoes Guest House
#167 of 253 in Porto
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Downtown Hostel

Address: Praca Guilherme Gomes Fernandes 66, Porto 4050-294, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $13 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Porto Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing