We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivoli Cinema Hostel
Ranked #11 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

- STAFF was very friendly and keen to help at all times.
- The hostel has a huge and modern KITCHEN 24hour open for guests. Kitchen has EVERYTHING one needs to cook, there is also a big fridge/freezer to keep guests stuff.
- BREAKFAST is served from 8.30-11.00 which is very good, not like in other hostels, they have very limited time. Breakfast consists of sliced bread, normal bread, all sort of jams, chocolate spread, juice (not natural though), cereal, milk).
- ROOMS very spacious, even though a bit warm. They put us a fan which was very helpful. We stayed in a double room (two beds, electric heating, 2 big wardrobes, big double glaze windows).
- Shared TOILETS quite new. They keep shower gels and shampoos that guests leave, so it is very handy for new guests. There is one toilets/shower set on every floor.
- Enormous and great, well decorated COMMON ROOM with a huge TV, 3 pc with Internet free of charge, 5 big sofas, loads of DVDs and games available to guests anytime.
-Swiming pool / small gym in the terrace on top of the building.
- TOWELS are not included, but you can hire one for 2 euros. Linen is included and is very clean.

Room Tip: The hostel has the whole building: - 1st floor: reception - 2nd/3rd/4th floors: rooms - 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

amazing place to stay!!!! friendly staff, clean rooms, got lockers in, nice breakfast, nice bathrooms, such a warm atmosphere!!!!! most of all we liked the staff, so open and willing to help, always talk to us, and those cocktail nights were just the perfect way to get people closer; the movies and the games was something i also consider quite a nice approach for a hostel!!! we had to move out as they had no rooms available for the sao joan festival, and we really didnt feel like going somewhere else!!!! if ever visit porto again this will be the place to stay!!!!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: You WILL NOT regret it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of the best hostels we have stayed in. We unfortunatly were only in porto for one night, if we could have we would have stayed in for alot longer! We had a 4 bed dorm, the room Was clean, spacious and had your own locker with a swipe card. Hostel is to find from train station and easy walk. The entire hostel is huge, so clean and just beautiful. There is a terrace upstairs with a beautiful view of porto and a gym available. Very central to everthing. We were in a pulp fiction themed room very cool. Hot showers, plenty of toilets etc never had to wait to use bathroom.huge big common room with computers, tv, wii, DVDs +++, couches. A very well equipped kitchen, free breakfast and free tea, coffee, cake, fruit, rolls all day. Wen we stayed there we had a free dinner meal, but usually charge 5 euro for meals with free wine. We loved it here, staff were all lovely, would definitely stay here again and would recommend anyone going to Porto to stay here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hostel in May. Great location. Very near to train station, metro and most of the attraction, especially Cafe Majestic. The hostel was very funky and clean. Best part is that the common area and sleeping area are on different levels. So you can sleep peacefully without worries about the noise from the common area. The staffs were friendly enough. Good security. Entry to the rooms and main door were card, not keys. Cool!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon0732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Me and my boys went to this Nice hostel in Porto because of The god reviews here át. Tripadvisor.
The location is on a street with much traffic and The guests were partypeople in The mayorety.
The hostel itself is Nice,especialy Isabel from The reception.
The rooms are ok, bathrooms, too The same way like The ammount for a night and The breakfast was includet.
They also offer a Free citywalk and a pubtour in The nighttime.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here over the Christmas holidays with my boyfriend. The hostel was so welcoming! We immediately felt right at home because the staff was so friendly and helpful. They recommended a walking tour for us to take to get to know the city. It was a great way to get an idea of the layout of the city. The hostel was very clean and well kept. Our only complaint was that our room was very cold and the heater didn't keep us warm. The staff gave us extra blankets and we kept warm. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rivoli cinema hostel is a very nice, clean hostel in the centre of Porto. The staff is great and very helpful and they offer many different activities like free tours in Porto, pub crawls and different types of food every evening. The hostel has a great roof terrace, and there are drinks and bread all day round. I would definately recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjitskeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#4 of 257 in Porto
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 257 in Porto
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#5 of 257 in Porto
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
So Cool Hostel Porto
So Cool Hostel Porto
#34 of 257 in Porto
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spot Oporto Hostel
Spot Oporto Hostel
#16 of 257 in Porto
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Cinema Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Cinema Hostel

Address: Rua Doutor Magalhaes Lemos 83, Porto 4000-332, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $15 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivoli Cinema Hostel is the first Cinema themed Hostel in Portugal, and here you can find 13 rooms each one about a different film.You can choose a room by a Director or by a Film, and the interior of the room is decorated with things about the film. You can find movies from Tim Burton, Tarantino, Ridley Scott, Almodovar, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Godard, Manoel de Oliveira, David Fincher, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Michael Radford, Mira Nair, Steven Spielberg, Stanley Kubrick, Jonathan Demme, Ang Lee.The Rivoli Cinema Hostel has 13 rooms available (twin or double beds and 4 beds room), 6 shared toilets and 6 shared showers, a fully equipped kitchen, 1 lounge area where you can relax, have a drink, read books and play games, and an outside 180 m2 space where you can listen to music, barbecue, sunbath, party, or just chat with the others guests.In the Hostel you can use free WiFi internet, and you have free maps, tourist info and guides.Rivoli Cinema Hostel is located in the Porto historical center, right at the most important city square: Avenida dos Aliados- where you can find streets full of monuments, restaurants, cafes, esplanades, shops, supermarkets, shoppings, tourism info spots . RCH is right in center of the cultural center of Porto near Coliseu, Cinemas, Theaters, and Art Galleries.At the doorstep you can find metro, bus, sightseeing bus, train, taxis and tram.From here you can easily visit the most important references in the city like the Port Wine Cellars, Clerigos Tower, Serralves Museum and its beautiful gardens, go to a concert in Casa da Musica, take a walk across the bridges, take a look at a local architecture, visit the F. C. Porto stadium, travel by boat in Douro river where you can take great pictures and have a drink in one of the many bars in Ribeira.Nightlife is around the hostel, you just have to choose between cafes, nightclubs, discos or bars where you can meet Erasmus students and locals. Right across the street you have the Rivoli Theater where you can see musicals and at February you can attend one of the best Fantastic Cinema Festival in the world – Fantasporto ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rivoli Cinema Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Cinema Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing