We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivoli Cinema Hostel, a place for Moviefans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivoli Cinema Hostel
Ranked #11 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were looking in Porto last september for a bed to stay and found it in this nice, cozy hostel in the heart of Porto.
The city was quit full in september and we were lucky to find a place to sleep because we made no reservation in advanse.
We had a dorm in a sixbed room who was not really big and with six persons inside, the space was really limited there.
The hostel is situated on a street with much traffic, also in the nighttime and specialy in the night from friday to saturday but in general it was not a problem to sleep in the nighttime.
Tha hostel is decorated with many Posters of Films and Movies and they have also a big number of films as DVD there.
The house has a nice kitchen with a small table inside the kitchen, a livingroom with flatscreen, DVD player, a guitar and three Internetcomputer.
The bathroom is also OK, only the showers are a little bit small.
Securety is on a high level, even if you wanna leave the room, so you have to puch a button.
The best place in this hostel is for sure the rooftop terrace with a nice view over the roofs of Portos old town.
Breakfast is also good, nothing special but good and somemornigs they have a super delicious chokocake witch I really loved.
A downside are the partypeople, who have bin there this time because they made party all night and they don`t cared about the noise they made.
At least, they are offering also free citywalks twice a day and a nighttour to the pub and clubscene of Porto every night for a fair Price including a wine tasting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Beatrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 281 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Yea I have bin to this Nice hostel here in Porto And I can tell you only good things about this place.
I stayed There for two nights and I cant tell you any negativ thing about it, exept maybe the traffic infront of the hostel and the beds are also not soooo cozy like they should be.
The staff for example os very Nice and helpful in all ways.
Another Nice thing is the wunderful roof terrace with a wunderful few over the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Raquel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went to this hostel last June in Porto because friends of mine told me, it should be a very nice hostel in the city and so it was.
Ok the noise from the street was a little bit much but it was ok in the nighttime.
Kitchen, tv- room and showers-everything all right.
The staff was also nice and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have bin in the Rivoli Cinema Hostel for two nights in September and it was a nice stay there with a few exeptions.
The staff gave us a warm welcome and a nice four bed room with two dorm beds.
The only weak point was the cleanliness of the room and a missing light on one bed.
The kitchen was normal-not big but everything you need.
The breakfast was also normal exept the fabulas choco cake wich I really loved.
Showers also Ok, maybe a little bit smal.
A big number of DVD`S but nothing for me but I was not there for watching Films.
Another downside was a main street in front of the Hostel with much trafic also in the evening and the nhostel is also a little away from the attractions.
The pupcrawl in the evening was great and really cheap for a five hour crawl.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
41  Thank Ana-Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here as a solo traveller at the start of walking the Portuguese route to Santiago de Compostella. I had travelled via Madrid, where I stayed in a fairly soul-less hostel, so it was a very pleasant surprise to find Rivoli. The staff were welcoming and offered useful information from a local's perspective, my room (private room) was wonderfully decorated and cosy, mixing contemporary with original features abd splebdid double glazibg to prevebt street nouse keeping one awake, the facilities (lounge / kitchen / IT) were excellent, and there were activities on offer each day, which are much appreciated when travelling alone. The evening pub crawl was notcso much to my taste, but may appeal more to a younger clientele. And in the morning, there was a simple but pleasant breakfast on offer. Well done Rivoli, I don't think I've ever written a 5-star review before.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice and cosy atmosphere on this hostel based in city center oporto. Close to metro station of aliados and to the station of the train, is a thematic hostel based on the cinema. In front of the rivoli hostel u have 3 floors of room each dedicated to a famous movie. On the top u have a beautiful terrace with a view over the city, a gym and a bbq area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcopaolo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my husband before travelling home. Overall i found the hostel to be very calm and laid back, much like the city. The commeon area was homely and the kitchen and bathroom areas seemed modern and very clean, and the beds extremely comfortable. The only draw back would be that there is only one toilet for girls per floor (not an issue when we were there but it was end of september), but it also has a shower in it. So if any girl decided that they want there own private cubicle to shower in, no other girls on that floor have a toilet to use! A bit annoying but just meant a trip to another floor. The wifi connection was also fine to use on the bedrooms as well as lounge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 262 in Porto
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#4 of 262 in Porto
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#5 of 262 in Porto
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spot Oporto Hostel
Spot Oporto Hostel
#18 of 262 in Porto
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
So Cool Hostel Porto
So Cool Hostel Porto
#30 of 262 in Porto
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Cinema Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Cinema Hostel

Address: Rua Doutor Magalhaes Lemos 83, Porto 4000-332, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $29 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivoli Cinema Hostel is the first Cinema themed Hostel in Portugal, and here you can find 13 rooms each one about a different film.You can choose a room by a Director or by a Film, and the interior of the room is decorated with things about the film. You can find movies from Tim Burton, Tarantino, Ridley Scott, Almodovar, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Godard, Manoel de Oliveira, David Fincher, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Michael Radford, Mira Nair, Steven Spielberg, Stanley Kubrick, Jonathan Demme, Ang Lee.The Rivoli Cinema Hostel has 13 rooms available (twin or double beds and 4 beds room), 6 shared toilets and 6 shared showers, a fully equipped kitchen, 1 lounge area where you can relax, have a drink, read books and play games, and an outside 180 m2 space where you can listen to music, barbecue, sunbath, party, or just chat with the others guests.In the Hostel you can use free WiFi internet, and you have free maps, tourist info and guides.Rivoli Cinema Hostel is located in the Porto historical center, right at the most important city square: Avenida dos Aliados- where you can find streets full of monuments, restaurants, cafes, esplanades, shops, supermarkets, shoppings, tourism info spots . RCH is right in center of the cultural center of Porto near Coliseu, Cinemas, Theaters, and Art Galleries.At the doorstep you can find metro, bus, sightseeing bus, train, taxis and tram.From here you can easily visit the most important references in the city like the Port Wine Cellars, Clerigos Tower, Serralves Museum and its beautiful gardens, go to a concert in Casa da Musica, take a walk across the bridges, take a look at a local architecture, visit the F. C. Porto stadium, travel by boat in Douro river where you can take great pictures and have a drink in one of the many bars in Ribeira.Nightlife is around the hostel, you just have to choose between cafes, nightclubs, discos or bars where you can meet Erasmus students and locals. Right across the street you have the Rivoli Theater where you can see musicals and at February you can attend one of the best Fantastic Cinema Festival in the world – Fantasporto ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rivoli Cinema Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Cinema Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing