We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the wait for parties more than 2”

Adega de Sao Nicolau
Ranked #252 of 2,332 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you arrive late (9pm), don’t expect to be sat down until last order especially if you’re in a group of more than 2. Food was pretty average, similar to a lot of other restaurants around Porto, so it’s not necessarily worth the 2 hours wait for food you can get elsewhere. Especially when they get you to wait by the steps next to the restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Kloeic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We waited for more than an hour to be seated on a Saturday night. All neighbourhood restaurants were packed and we didn't have a reservation. Finally got a table outside - cramped but somewhat fun. We had Dourado, Tiger shrimp and octopus filets with a lovely bottle of wine. It's right on the river but tucked into a corner so difficult to see the river. Service was very good.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well I must admit this was not a place we will visit again - service was ok - but the food tasted poor, perhaps a bad day ... tourits trap - we say yes - or perhaps just eat fish ? We dont know no meat, chicken etc. Price ok 33 eur

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank HitmanJulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

In general, we did not connect well to Portuguese food, but at this restaurant the chef proved that it is possible otherwise.
It was very tasty and we certainly come again in our next time in Porto

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank IGAL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

The Octopus fillets over octopus rice was exceptional. Very busy during lunch. Outdoor seating wasn't available so we opted for indoor. Nice dining room.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank bollwage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega de Sao Nicolau also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Adega de Sao Nicolau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing