We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible location, no wi fi in the rooms, expensive and average breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible location, no wi fi in the rooms, expensive and average breakfast.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is far from everywhere. Far from the airport, far from the city centre. Rooms are good but no wi fi. Breakfast has very little options and is expensive. One particular staff was very nice but that was the only positive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juarnaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We undesrtand your question concerning the lack of wi-fi internet connection in our rooms, and we are already menaging that, so in a near future all our guests will find the possibility of easily getting a wi-fi connection all over the Hotel.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    391
    175
    35
    18
See reviews for
134
343
39
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice hotel for good price. Staff there is very friendly. The hotel is quite new and nice inside. The only minus was cable internet in the rooms (not wi-fi). But it was possible to find wi-fi Internet at lobby. Near the hotel you may find a lot of busses that goes to the city centre or to the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Manager at Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Anton,

Thanks for leaving your opinion about us on tripadvisor.com

We hope to welcome you again soon. At this moment we are managing to have also wi-fi internet in the rooms, so probably this question is solved very soon.

Best Regards

Júlio Guerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is actually far from the center. You won't be able to take the metro. The bus stop is 5 minutes walk but they are not that frequent (specially on the weekends). You will have to work out your schedule around the bus. If you have a car or a lot of time then go for it. For the price, it's really good decent clean rooms. Friendly staff and decent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Manager at Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Omar,

It loved having you as one of our guests. Thank you so much for leaving your feed back on Tripadvisor.com

Best Regards

Júlio Guerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a perfect example of an excellent hotel to stay for business and leisure stays. Itr really neat and clean... good price and the staff its excelente.... even in a late night check in.

really good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Manager at Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Pedro

Thank you so much for leaving your feed back on tripadvisor.com

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards

Júlio Guerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really nice hotel located a bit outside the centre. It has a minimalist design but it suits really good!
All the staff was pleasant and helpeful. Toilets were clean and bed was extremely comfortable. Only bad point: the walls were quite dirty.
I totally reccomend this hotel especially for couples or if you are looking for a cheap place to stay one night before catching your flight. If you don't have a car it can be far away from the centre but easily reachable by taxi.
Overall was a good experience specially comparing quality/price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great price. Nice rooms - beds and good service. Bathrooms are clean. Free Wi-fi in the looby, Breakfast is good to be a continental one. It has everything your looking for a business trip or for a couple of days in Oporto. Nothing fancy, just exactly what you need. There is a supermarket and some good restaurants near, you can go walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms walls are very thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good no frills hotel, basic but comfortable,free internet and friendly staff. A bit away from the center so good if you have a car, also has free parking. Good value for the low prices! Bring some earplugs as the walls are bit thin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel and Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#67 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
1.9 mi away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel

Property: Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel
Address: Rua Senhora do Porto 930, Porto 4250-453, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Star Inn Porto is the first low-cost design hotel in Portugal. Offering simple yet comfortable accommodation, this contemporary hotel appeals to all travellers looking for a reasonably priced hotel. The rooms are well-designed and feature lcd flat screen, power-shower and hair-dryer. The Hotel Star Inn occupies a strategic position between Oporto city centre and the airport. Offering good public transportation links, all of Oporto’s major sights and commercial centres are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing