We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if you've got a car or so much time in your hands” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Inn Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Star Inn Porto
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Porto
London
Level Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Only if you've got a car or so much time in your hands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is actually far from the center. You won't be able to take the metro. The bus stop is 5 minutes walk but they are not that frequent (specially on the weekends). You will have to work out your schedule around the bus. If you have a car or a lot of time then go for it. For the price, it's really good decent clean rooms. Friendly staff and decent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Omar,

It loved having you as one of our guests. Thank you so much for leaving your feed back on Tripadvisor.com

Best Regards

Júlio Guerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    387
    172
    33
    17
See reviews for
131
337
39
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a perfect example of an excellent hotel to stay for business and leisure stays. Itr really neat and clean... good price and the staff its excelente.... even in a late night check in.

really good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Pedro

Thank you so much for leaving your feed back on tripadvisor.com

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards

Júlio Guerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really nice hotel located a bit outside the centre. It has a minimalist design but it suits really good!
All the staff was pleasant and helpeful. Toilets were clean and bed was extremely comfortable. Only bad point: the walls were quite dirty.
I totally reccomend this hotel especially for couples or if you are looking for a cheap place to stay one night before catching your flight. If you don't have a car it can be far away from the centre but easily reachable by taxi.
Overall was a good experience specially comparing quality/price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great price. Nice rooms - beds and good service. Bathrooms are clean. Free Wi-fi in the looby, Breakfast is good to be a continental one. It has everything your looking for a business trip or for a couple of days in Oporto. Nothing fancy, just exactly what you need. There is a supermarket and some good restaurants near, you can go walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms walls are very thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good no frills hotel, basic but comfortable,free internet and friendly staff. A bit away from the center so good if you have a car, also has free parking. Good value for the low prices! Bring some earplugs as the walls are bit thin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel and Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on my business trip to Porto. This hotel was chosen by my business partner and I accept it. The total price for 3 nights including breakfast was 108 EUR, i.e. it was very cheap. The hotel called himself design hotel. As for outside view, lobby, bar and restaurant I would agree. But the rooms are let say standard design, not bad, I would say good room for budget hotel. In the room there is really everything that you need: wardrobe, writing table, tv, internet bathroom.
The only problem I felled was some smell in the bathroom. It seemed to me that in one of the next rooms someone was smoking and the smell came through ventilation.
The breakfast was corresponding to the price of 6 EUR, There were some variety of sweetness, corn flakes and on kind of cheese and ham. For more days it could be boring, but for 2 breakfasts it was OK. Last day I was leaving early morning so they prepared for me breakfast box to take away.
The stuff was friendly and help me with everything that I needed (taxi, wake up call).
For me as I was on business trip the location of the hotel was not problem, about 500 m from the hotel were one supermarket and 4 restaurants with several kind of cuisines (receptionist explained me the way).
Finally in this hotel I consider excellent the value for money.I would recommend it for business trip (if you do not want to save money), but for tourism I would choose another hotel.,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavel274702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Pavel

In name of our team i would like to thank you for leaving your feed back about Hotel Star inn Porto.

We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards

Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had booked 4 nights at Star inn , Porto but ended up staying only 1 night.
The Hotel is not bad, the lobby is very modern, breakfast is ok and the rooms, although REALLY small, are tidy, clean and the bathroom, despite its size, is clean and modern.
The staff was really friendly, I have nothing to complain about this aspect whatsoever.
However, as we booked through internet and looking at the location map, I could not fully realize how far it was from downtown.
On our firt day we were given directions to the nearst bus stop , 5 min walk from the Hotel. We stayed there around 40 min waiting for a bus. Then it was more 40 minutes until the bus reached downtown, as the streets are totally jammed, traffic lights every block, holding you for endless minutes every 100 metres... I was already tired when we finally reached the centre of the city. On our way back we took the subway and from the station near a hospital we took the taxi . €7 .
On the next day we decided to avoid the bus altogether and went straight to the subway station, on our way back, again, more 7 euros for taxis, plus all the hassle of taking subways, waiting for trains etc.
This was the main aspect that motivated us to change hotels.
another thing was that the Hotel has wifi on its lobby but only hold a laptop cable connection in the bedrooms. As we travel with our tablet, this meant we had to stay at the hotel bar to browse the internet to check tours, maps etc.
It was on our second night, 10pm , at the hotel bar when I decided to move to another hotel downtown and I really dont regret it! I booked via an internet hotel site, got a discounted price, went up to the bedroom and packed my things. 1 hour later I was at an EXCELLENT hotel on Rua Sta Catarina, one block from the metro, with shopping center, downtown, restaurants and cafes at my door step. And with wi.fi in the bedroom, a mini bar and a very decent breakfast! . as well as a big bedroom, big bathroom and very polite staff around. These were the best nights in Porto!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrisLoboUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Cristiane,

First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We undesrtand your question concerning the lack of wi-fi internet connection in our rooms, and we are already menaging that, so in a near future all our guests will find the possibility of easily getting a wi-fi connection all over the Hotel.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours

Júlio Guerra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#66 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Porto

Property: Star Inn Porto
Address: Rua Senhora do Porto 930, Porto 4250-453, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Star Inn Porto is the first low-cost design hotel in Portugal. Offering simple yet comfortable accommodation, this contemporary hotel appeals to all travellers looking for a reasonably priced hotel. The rooms are well-designed and feature lcd flat screen, power-shower and hair-dryer. The Hotel Star Inn occupies a strategic position between Oporto city centre and the airport. Offering good public transportation links, all of Oporto’s major sights and commercial centres are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Star Inn Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing